When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

Reviews

ExpressVPN Review 2024

Written by Cherry Ann Venus
Last updated

Right off the bat, we'll say that ExpressVPN is among the most capable VPNs available on the global market today. What sets it apart? For starters, it doesn't collect user logs, keeping your digital footprint clean and private. Plus, this VPN operates from the British Virgin Islands, which isn't part of any international snooping alliances. And with a spotless track record of no past data leaks, you can trust it for a safe online journey.

But that's not all. ExpressVPN is your go-to companion for seamless streaming, lightning-fast torrenting, and lag-free gaming. It's also packed with a robust arsenal when it comes to privacy and security features. No wonder it tops our list of the best VPN services. It's a true example of how a commercial VPN should work in every imaginable aspect.

However, before going any deeper, our ExpressVPN review will introduce you to this VPN by listing its most prominent characteristics. Check the table you'll see just below.

Jurisdiction British Virgin Islands
Logging No logs (independently audited)
Servers Undisclosed servers in 105 countries
Protocols OpenVPN, Lightway, IKEv2
Features Kill switch, split tunneling, private DNS, anti-tracking, ad blocker, threat manager, parental controls, and more
Supported Devices Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, routers, and more
Simultaneous Connections 8
Performance Ultra-fast
Supports Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, Max, Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, Torrenting, gaming, and more
Customer Support 24/7 live chat, email support, and more
Money-Back Guarantee 30-days
Price $6.67/mo
Score 9.5
Rating

In this in-depth ExpressVPN review, we'll closely examine every aspect of this VPN, such as country of origin, supported platforms, UI design, features, VPN server network, performance, and more. To learn about our approach to testing VPN services (and yes, we always test them hands-on), here's our guide on how we review VPNs.

Also, know that we're keeping this review up-to-date at all times, so you'll stay informed on what's new in ExpressVPN. Our goal is to make it easy for you to understand ExpressVPN's position in the global VPN market.

Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation

Despite the recent shift in ExpressVPN's ownership, our team believes ExpressVPN still deserves your trust due to its years-long commitment to privacy, no-logs policy, numerous audits, open-source software, and involvement with cyber-sec alliances. Our Score: 9/10

The primary purpose of any VPN is to hide your IP address (and, therefore, your location) and help you stay anonymous online. However, this also means not every VPN will do its job in the best way possible. With that said, here's what to expect from ExpressVPN.

Jurisdiction British Virgin Islands
No-Logs Policy YES
Independent Audits YES (frequent)
Past Incidents NO
RAM-Only Servers YES

Where Is ExpressVPN Based?

ExpressVPN is based in the British Virgin Islands and is a non-member of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance. This location is an excellent choice from a legal standpoint since this United Kingdom territory has self-governing laws.

However, it's crucial to note that ExpressVPN is no longer an independent company, as Kape Technologies acquired ExpressVPN in September 2021. Kape Technologies is a massive company that runs a wide range of businesses. They've also extended their reach into the online space by owning review sites like WizCase and vpnMentor.

Moreover, know that Kape Technologies was taken private in June 2023 by Unikmind Holdings, which is the major shareholder of Kape. Both Unikmind and Kape come from the Isle of Man, part of the United Kingdom. However, when it comes to any potential legal requests, they're based on the jurisdiction of the VPN service.

In other words, ExpressVPN's legal jurisdiction remains the British Virgin Islands (BVI). This means that any legal requests concerning user data would need to comply with BVI laws, not those of the Isle of Man or the UK.

Furthermore, Kape owns CyberGhost VPN, ZenMate VPN, and Private Internet Access (PIA) (here's more information about the VPNs owned by Kape Technologies). Despite ExpressVPN being under the same parent company, these VPN services maintain their unique identities and adhere to their individual privacy policies.

Lastly, ExpressVPN remains a part of the 'VPN Trust Initiative' and' ioXt Alliance', alongside pioneering several transparency initiatives. With all that said, we believe that ExpressVPN's recent merger with Kape shouldn't be a reason for concern. Of course, we'll make sure to update this article in case anything of interest comes up.

Did ExpressVPN Leak Private Data in the Past?

No, ExpressVPN didn't leak private data in the past. It came under the spotlight in January 2017 when its Turkey-based servers were seized by the country's authorities. That was an opportunity for the VPN to prove its claims of not collecting data, and that's what happened.

As it turned out, those (no-logs) claims were proven to be true. The authorities were not able to extract any information from the seized servers. That has also demonstrated the fact that the VPN doesn't have any backdoors built into its applications.

Speaking of backdoors, this is where we should mention ExpressVPN's former CIO, Daniel Gericke, who turned out to also be a mercenary hacker for the United Arab Emirates. As reported by Reuters, Gericke worked on 'Project Raven' in the past, a surveillance operation focusing on exploiting zero-day flaws and taking over devices without any user interaction.

However, Gericke made the decision to leave the company. This aligned with the departure of former ExpressVPN co-founder Peter Burchhardt, coinciding with the company's transition to private ownership.

Lastly, in December 2017, ExpressVPN launched a project called 'Digital Research Lab.' The main goal of that action was to provide online tools for checking VPN data leaks. In the latest version of the VPN's software, you can find a set of useful tools that are the result of this initiative (once you dive into ExpressVPN's main menu).

Is ExpressVPN Safe and Secure?

Yes, ExpressVPN is one of the safest and most secure VPNs available. It uses AES-256 encryption, shielded by a choice of powerful protocols. You can choose from OpenVPN's reliability, Lightway's lightning speed, or IKEv2's seamless connection, especially on mobile devices – all while maintaining impenetrable encryption.

Most importantly, ExpressVPN undergoes regular third-party audits, solidifying its position as one of the most transparent providers in the industry.

Supported Platforms & Devices

ExpressVPN has done a fantastic job of offering apps for desktop and mobile platforms. Furthermore, you can use it on up to eight devices at the same time. Our Score: 10/10

The following table gives you an overview of ExpressVPN's presence on multiple devices. Take a quick look below, and then we'll expand this topic with helpful information.

What needs to be highlighted is that ExpressVPN doesn't require manual configuration. Still, if you decide to go the manual route, the VPN is there to support you. They have detailed guides on their website for setting up ExpressVPN on all of your devices, including your PC, phone (Android, iPhone), iPad, Android TV, and more.

Some devices, such as game consoles, support ExpressVPN via different workarounds. In that case, your best bet is to set up ExpressVPN on a router and keep all your devices protected at once. That doesn't apply only to ExpressVPN but to all VPNs out there, as devices such as game consoles don't support VPN apps natively.

Just recently, this VPN introduced its very own hardware product, called "Aircove." It's a high-end Wi-Fi 6 router that comes with built-in VPN support. You can order Aircove from Amazon for $189.90, and it's available in the US for now. For more info, head over to our central ExpressVPN Aircove guide.

ExpressVPN is also quick to adopt the latest technologies. Just recently, this VPN provider overhauled its macOS application and now supports Apple's M1 and M2 chips natively. That transition brought a noticeable improvement in performance while lowering the application's power consumption.

We'll also add that you can install ExpressVPN on as many devices as you like. However, there's a device limit for simultaneous connections set to 8. You'll find our guide on how to install ExpressVPN on multiple devices helpful.

Installation & Initial Configuration

This VPN service offers a straightforward way to install and setup ExpressVPN. Even those who are new to VPNs won't encounter any issues and will find the installation method easy. Our Score: 10/10

In this section of our hands-on ExpressVPN review, we'll guide you on how to download ExpressVPN, including how to install and configure it. As you're about to see, you're in for a very simple procedure.

Native Apps for Desktop YES
Native Apps for Mobile YES
Manual Configuration YES
Simultaneous Connections 8

How to Download and Use ExpressVPN?

How to download and install ExpressVPN native apps

To download and start using this VPN, you need to subscribe, get its installation file, and install ExpressVPN on your device. This whole process takes only a few minutes, and here's what you need to do:

  1. Subscribe to ExpressVPN using any Web browser.
  2. Return to ExpressVPN's website and click "My Account" using the site's main menu.
  3. Provide your credentials to access your ExpressVPN dashboard.
  4. Download the installation file using the top-placed banner.
  5. Find the installation file and double-click to open it.
  6. Go through ExpressVPN's installation procedure.
  7. Launch the VPN and log in using your ExpressVPN activation code.
  8. To choose a location, click the hamburger button and pick "VPN Locations."
  9. Double-click on any server, and ExpressVPN will connect you. That's it!

ExpressVPN comes equipped to protect your privacy from the get-go. However, we recommend activating its kill switch (Hamburger Button > Preferences/Settings > General > Network Lock), preventing data leaks even if something unexpected happens.

Also, the ExpressVPN app has a helpful "Threat Manager" feature to block even the most advanced trackers (Hamburger Button > Preferences/Settings > Threat Manager), which we highly recommend activating as soon as you install the VPN.

To learn more about getting started with this VPN on various different platforms, we've prepared a handy guide that covers 60+ devices. So, here's how to set up ExpressVPN.

Prominent Features

ExpressVPN is managing to bring an excellent selection of basic/standard tools (all of which work great). It also caters to more advanced users via more complex features, which means that every potential user of this VPN should be covered well. Our Score: 9/10

ExpressVPN is among the most feature-rich VPN services. You get complete protection for your digital privacy, a leak-free tunnel for your data, as well as a plethora of advanced features.

DNS Leak Protection YES
IPv6 Leak Protection YES
Kill Switch YES
Split Tunneling YES (Windows, macOS, Android, routers)
Dedicated/Static IP NO
Ad-Blocker YES
Anti-Malware NO
Unlimited Server Switches YES
Unlimited Bandwidth YES
Unlimited Data YES

Here's what to expect from ExpressVPN in terms of its features:

How to enable Kill Switch in ExpressVPN
How to set up ExpressVPN's Split Tunneling on Android
How to enable ExpressVPN Parental Control

Server Count & Infrastructure

With ExpressVPN, you have access to a wide range of servers across the globe. While they haven't disclosed the exact number, you can be assured that there's more than enough to support your needs. Our Score: 8.5/10

In general, you'll want a VPN with plenty of servers. This grants you access to a wider variety of locations, allowing you to connect to more countries and obtain a broader selection of IP addresses. It can also reduce congestion and maintain optimal performance for all users.

Number of Servers Undisclosed
Number of Locations 160+
Number of Countries 105
Specific Cities Selection YES
Unlimited Switching YES

You should know that this VPN is on our list of VPNs with the most servers. However, some of its direct competitors offer 9,500+ servers. That sounds amazing in theory, but that doesn't mean you'll get faster performance by choosing a VPN with a larger number of servers.

ExpressVPN's default 'optimal' server setting prioritizes speed. This connects to the fastest server available, giving you the best possible performance. In general, this is a nearby server that might even be located in your country.

However, you also have full freedom to change locations and connect to any of the optimized servers offered by this VPN. There's a search option that lets you find specific ExpressVPN countries or even cities.

Just recently, ExpressVPN started upgrading its server network by replacing 1Gbps servers with 10Gbps servers. That means you can now expect faster speeds, more reliable connections, and more frequent updates to the VPN's server network.

ExpressVPN’s 10Gbps servers are available in 30 in-demand countries (check the full list below), which means that 80% of its global bandwidth now goes through the new servers.

ExpressVPN 10Gbps Servers - Full List of Servers / Locations
Algeria Israel UK – Midlands
Australia – Adelaide Italy – Cosenza Ukraine
Australia – Brisbane Japan – Shibuya USA – Atlanta
Australia – Melbourne Japan – Tokyo USA – Dallas
Australia – Perth Malaysia USA – Denver
Australia – Sydney Netherlands – Amsterdam USA – Los Angeles – 1
Australia – Sydney – 2 Netherlands – Rotterdam USA – Los Angeles – 2
Australia – Woolloomooloo Netherlands – The Hague USA – Los Angeles – 3
Austria New Zealand USA – Miami
Canada - Toronto Philippines USA – Miami – 2
Croatia Poland USA – New Jersey – 1
Czech Republic Singapore – CBD USA – New Jersey – 3
Egypt Singapore – Jurong USA – New York
France - Marseille Spain – Madrid USA – Phoenix
France - Paris - 2 Sweden USA – San Francisco
Germany - Frankfurt – 1 Switzerland USA – Seattle
Germany – Frankfurt – 3 Taiwan – 3 USA – Washington DC
Germany – Nuremberg Thailand
Hong Kong – 1 Turkey
Hong Kong – 2 UK – Docklands
India (via UK) UK – East London
Indonesia UK – London

As noted earlier, ExpressVPN doesn't impose any restrictions, so you're free to switch between RAM-only servers as many times as you like. Disconnecting and connecting to ExpressVPN locations takes only a few seconds, and the overall experience is quite fluid. Moreover, all ExpressVPN server locations have built-in obfuscation as long as your protocol is set to 'Automatic.'

We'll also mention that, just like other VPNs, ExpressVPN implements modifications to its server network from time to time. For example, the VPN recently removed India-based servers as a way to protect the privacy of its users before India's privacy-invading data law came into effect.

However, the VPN didn't just remove its India-based servers. It removed those previously found physically in India. Instead of those, it now offers two virtual locations (learn more about that just below) in the UK and Singapore, letting its users obtain Indian IP addresses.

Does ExpressVPN Use Virtual Server Locations?

Yes, ExpressVPN uses a small number of VPN virtual locations. More precisely, less than 5% of ExpressVPN's servers aren't physically located in their "end country."

To understand how ExpressVPN's virtual servers work, we'll give you an example. Let's say that you want to connect to a server in Argentina. For this country, the VPN uses servers located in Brazil. That means your Internet traffic will be routed through servers in Brazil, while you'll be assigned an Argentinian IP so that your Web traffic appears to originate from that country.

In terms of virtual servers, ExpressVPN is in front of its competitors. With approximately 5% of its servers being virtual, 95% of its servers are bare-metal servers owned by ExpressVPN.

ExpressVPN's Virtual Server Locations - Full List
Algeria (via Germany) Colombia (via Brazil) Kazakhstan (via Singapore) Panama (via Brazil)
Andorra (via the Netherlands) Cuba (via the U.S.) Laos (via Singapore) Peru (via Brazil)
Argentina (via Brazil) Dominican Republic (via the U.S.) Lebanon (via Germany) Philippines (via Singapore)
Armenia (via the Netherlands) Ecuador (via Brazil) Liechtenstein (via the Netherlands) Puerto Rico (via the U.S.)
Bahamas (via the U.S.) Egypt (via Germany) Malaysia (via Singapore) Slovenia (via the Netherlands)
Bangladesh (via Singapore) Ghana (via Germany) Macau (via Singapore) Sri Lanka (via Singapore)
Belarus (via the Netherlands) Guam (via Singapore) Malta (via the Netherlands) Taiwan - 3 (via Hong Kong)
Bermuda (via the U.S.) Guatemala (via Brazil) Monaco (via the Netherlands) Thailand (via Singapore)
Bhutan (via Singapore) Honduras (via the U.S.) Mongolia (via Singapore) Trinidad and Tobago (via the U.S.)
Bolivia (via Brazil) India (via the UK) Montenegro (via the Netherlands) Turkey (via Germany)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (via the Netherlands) India (via Singapore) Morocco (via Germany) Ukraine (via Poland)
Brunei (via Singapore) Indonesia (via Singapore) Myanmar (via Singapore) Uruguay (via Brazil)
Cambodia (via Singapore) Isle of Man (via the Netherlands) Nepal (via Singapore) Uzbekistan (via the Netherlands)
Cayman Islands (via the U.S.) Jamaica (via the U.S.) North Macedonia (via the Netherlands) Venezuela (via Brazil)
Chile (via Brazil) Jersey (via the Netherlands) Pakistan (via Singapore) Vietnam (via Singapore)

UI/UX Design & Ease of Use

Animation Showing Home Screen of ExpressVPN on Mac

ExpressVPN comes with a simple UI. Even if this is your first time encountering a VPN application, you shouldn't have a problem using it. Our Score: 10/10

In this segment, we'll explore ExpressVPN on desktop and mobile platforms. And considering that this VPN offers a Web browser extension, why not check that as well? With that said, keep on reading our hands-on ExpressVPN review.

How Well Does ExpressVPN Work on Desktop Platforms?

ExpressVPN works exceptionally well on desktop platforms. We’ll start with the main screen of the ExpressVPN app, whose biggest portion is reserved for a prominent ON/OFF button. When you login and connect to a server, it will go green (along with its colorful background) – indicating that the VPN is active. Otherwise, the button stays red.

Different methods to connect to ExpressVPN servers

Underneath this button, you'll see your currently selected server. To change a VPN location in ExpressVPN, click on 'Selected Location.' Then, you will also see two additional suggestions, a recommended server ('Smart Location'), as well as your previously used server ('Recent location').

In the top-left corner, there’s a hamburger button (three vertical lines). The first option here is called 'VPN Locations,' and as you can expect, this is where you can check out the available servers (as you can see in the image above). ExpressVPN presents a list of recommended servers, but you're also free to review its entire server network and more.

On Mac, the next item in the hamburger menu is called 'Speed Test.' Using this tool, you can instruct ExpressVPN to test its servers (based on your physical location). This way, you will get three pieces of information: speed index, latency, and download speed. Once you do a speed test, you can double-click on any server's name, and ExpressVPN will connect you immediately.

Accessing the ExpressVPN Speed Test feature on Mac

Now, we'll check another item from this menu, called 'Preferences.' This is where you'll find six tabs, each bringing a distinct set of options. Here’s a quick overview:

How to select ExpressVPN protocols
Showing ExpressVPN Shortcuts

The rest of the options within the hamburger menu are pretty self-explanatory. You can find support documentation, check how to install ExpressVPN on a PC or other devices, refer friends, and more. All of these options are actually links to the VPN's official website.

How Well Does ExpressVPN Work on Mobile Platforms?

ExpressVPN works well on mobile platforms. The ExpressVPN app also looks and feels the same across all the devices it supports. With that said, know that ExpressVPN on mobile apps (Android and iOS) is highly polished and incredibly simple to use. Let's take a closer look at those.

Updated ExpressVPN interface on iOS
ExpressVPN's interface on iPhone.

For the most part, ExpressVPN's mobile apps (Android and iPhone), including iPad, share a similar login process and appearance. On their home screens, you'll find a prominent ON/OFF button used to connect to a server (and later on, disconnect).

Additionally, both iOS and Android users benefit from a 'Protection Summary,' providing insights into your VPN activity. Android users, on the other hand, enjoy the added functionality of a 'Security Assistant' for further security enhancements.

Then, you can tap on the 'three dots' icon (next to the name of your previously used server) to reveal all of ExpressVPN's locations. This is where you'll get to see 'Smart,' 'Recent,' and 'Recommended' locations.

To dive deeper, you can tap on the 'Options' tab, found at the bottom of ExpressVPN's UI. You can access the app's settings here, switch between different VPN protocols, and enable advanced protection features. You can also access your account information, as well as use ExpressVPN's digital tools for checking for any IP, DNS, and WebRTC leaks.

ExpressVPN interface on an Android device
ExpressVPN's interface on Android.

Speaking of ExpressVPN's settings on phone devices, here's what you can expect to tweak.

All in all, ExpressVPN is a joy to use - no matter if you have an Android or iOS device. In terms of the VPN's performance, both of those apps are doing an excellent job. ExpressVPN feels smooth, even when used on older Android/iOS phones.

How Well Do ExpressVPN's Web Browser Extensions Work?

ExpressVPN's Web browser extensions deliver efficient performance. It offers extensions for Google's Chrome, Microsoft's Edge, and Mozilla's Firefox. You can also use those on Brave and Vivaldi browsers. All of those are basically the same in the sense that they bring the same set of features.

How to use ExpressVPN Chrome extension

ExpressVPN's Web browser extensions are unique when compared to what other VPNs offer. To use them, you also need to install ExpressVPN's desktop app. Therefore, these extensions act as a remote control for the app, giving you access to all of ExpressVPN's servers.

As soon as you download and install one of ExpressVPN's extensions, you'll be greeted by a familiar UI. Using the home screen, you can connect to a 'smart location' or pick from a recently used server. You can also connect to any server manually.

Settings for ExpressVPN Chrome extension

If you click on the hamburger button in the top-left corner, this will reveal additional options, as explained below.

All in all, we really like ExpressVPN's approach to Web browser extensions. Instead of offering a half-baked solution, you get the best possible protection for your data, in addition to ExpressVPN's entire army of servers.

Media Streaming, Torrenting, and Gaming Support

ExpressVPN can easily unblock a huge number of media streaming services, with Netflix US included. Plus, it fully supports P2P traffic and has excellent gaming performance. Our Score: 10/10

VPNs are often used to enjoy online content, be it streaming, torrenting, or gaming. However, not all VPN services provide a seamless experience for these activities. Let's examine how ExpressVPN performs in these aspects.

Netflix US YES
Hulu YES
Max YES
Disney+ YES
BBC iPlayer YES
Amazon Prime Video YES
Torrenting (P2P) Support YES
Gaming Support YES

Is ExpressVPN Good for Streaming?

Yes, ExpressVPN is an excellent option for streaming. Based on our tests, it's the best VPN for streaming available today, as it brings ultra-fast performance and can unblock any site.

Speaking of US-based streaming platforms, ExpressVPN works with any platform that offers on-demand movies and TV shows, as well as with live TV streaming services. Without surprise, it's an amazing pick for Netflix because you can use ExpressVPN with Netflix to unblock more than a dozen different country-based streaming libraries.

Here are some of the most notable US-based streaming platforms this VPN unblocks.

Netflix Disney+ Max
Hulu Prime Video Paramount+
YouTube TV ESPN+ DAZN
Sling TV Fubo TV DIRECTV STREAM

Regarding international and non-US streaming platforms, ExpressVPN again shows dominance over other VPNs. Here's a taste of what to expect in that sense.

BBC iPlayer (UK) ITVX (UK) NOW TV (UK)
Channel 4 (UK) CBC (Canada) RaiPlay (Italy)
9NOW Live (Australia) CTV Live (Canada) GloboPlay (Brazil)
DSTV (S. Africa) RTE (Spain) Zattoo (Germany)

All ExpressVPN servers are optimized for streaming, simplifying the process of unblocking sites. Also, you have access to unlimited bandwidth, which is crucial in this case. So, just connect to a server in a specific country, and all streaming services from that country will become accessible.

Let's not forget that ExpressVPN has something called 'MediaStreamer,' which is a Smart DNS service. You can set it up on devices that don't work with VPNs, such as smart TVs and gaming consoles, letting you unblock US platforms like Netflix.

Is ExpressVPN Good for Torrenting?

Yes, ExpressVPN is more than good for torrenting - it's one of our preferred solutions for protecting P2P traffic.

So, what exactly makes ExpressVPN suitable for torrenting? Well, a lot. You get a range of powerful protocols, led by Lightway and OpenVPN. Then, you get a massive range of servers in 105 countries. That means you have plenty of options to secure and hide your P2P traffic and download torrents as fast as your Web connection allows.

The only downside is that ExpressVPN doesn't support port forwarding. However, we can't say that's a dealbreaker as long as you make an effort to find healthy files with plenty of seeders.

You can learn more by reading our guide on how to set up and torrent with ExpressVPN. And if you need more options, here's our article on the best VPNs for torrenting.

Is ExpressVPN Good for Gaming?

Yes, ExpressVPN is a great VPN for gaming. That's because it allows you to re-route your data, lower your ping, and improve your latency. So, you'll end up with an amazing gaming session.

When it comes to using a VPN for gaming, you must ensure that you get a VPN with plenty of servers, specific gaming-related performance optimizations, and fast speeds.

ExpressVPN gives you plenty of freedom when choosing an optimal server based on your gaming needs. Still, keep in mind that ExpressVPN will slow you down a bit, so it's crucial to have a fast Web connection.

ExpressVPN doesn't have dedicated gaming servers. Instead, you can use any of its servers. In addition to that, you can choose from a wide range of protocols, allowing you to reduce lag and increase gaming performance - on both local and long-distance connections. This versatility makes ExpressVPN a top contender on our best gaming VPN list.

To check what other features you can use to optimize your gameplay session (as well as how to keep your ping under control), here's our complete guide on using ExpressVPN for gaming.

Security & Privacy

ExpressVPN won't leak your data. Also, it won't track what you do online. With that said, we believe that ExpressVPN is a great tool for preserving your privacy. Our Score: 9.5/10

To find out if we should really trust ExpressVPN with your data, we'll take a look at three aspects: VPN protocols, logging policy, and IP/DNS leaks. This should give us plenty of information about the way our personal data is used.

VPN Protocols OpenVPN, Lightway, IKEv2
Encryption AES-256 (OpenVPN, IKEv2) & WolfSSL (Lightway)
RAM-Only Servers YES
No-Logs Policy YES
Audits YES (frequent)

ExpressVPN Protocols

ExpressVPN offers a range of VPN protocols. However, some of those are available on specific devices only. First, let's give you an overview of what VPN protocols to expect.

Supported Protocols
OpenVPN Lightway IKEv2
Windows YES YES NO
macOS YES YES YES
Linux YES YES NO
iOS NO YES YES
Android YES YES NO

Does ExpressVPN Keep Logs?

No, ExpressVPN doesn't keep logs. However, despite its no logs policy, know that this VPN provider does collect some information nonetheless, which is the case with practically any other VPN out there.

ExpressVPN collects app diagnostic data, including crash reports, usability diagnostics, and VPN connection diagnostics. Also, information regarding the total sum of data transferred is collected to improve ExpressVPN's performance. None of the previously mentioned data types is connected to your username.

In other words, ExpressVPN adheres to a strict no logs policy and will never collect your IP address (source or VPN), browsing history, traffic destination or metadata, or your DNS queries. That said, this VPN can never be compelled to provide any type of sensitive data, as such data doesn't exist on the VPN's servers.

Then, we already told you about ExpressVPN's TrustedServer technology. By having data centers not relying on hard drives - the VPN avoids logging any information. We're talking about RAM in this case, which means that even anonymized data is perfectly safe.

We should also mention ExpressVPN's audits, the last of which focused on the Lightway protocol (done by Cure53). Per that audit's findings, ExpressVPN's Lightway is a highly secure protocol designed to keep your personal information away from anyone's eyes.

There was also an audit of ExpressVPN's Windows, macOS, and Linux apps. Those were 3 independent audits done by F-Secure and Cure53, proving that ExpressVPN comes free of vulnerabilities. Therefore, no matter which of those desktop apps you use, you can be 100% sure that your IP address and your sensitive information will never leak.

There was also an audit done by KPMG and Cure53, focusing on the VPN's data logging practices. As per those audits, ExpressVPN doesn't collect any personally identifiable information. And even if someone asks for your data, ExpressVPN won't be able to provide anything - as it has no data on its servers.

That said, ExpressVPN is ahead of its competition in terms of transparency. This VPN goes through regular audits to prove that its systems are built from the ground up to preserve and protect your privacy on the Internet.

Will ExpressVPN Leak/Expose Your Private Data?

As you can see from the screenshot below, ExpressVPN has managed to hide our IP address. Besides, DNS addresses point to ExpressVPN's servers only. Once we checked our geolocation data, it pointed to a location in the Netherlands - which is great since we've used a Netherlands-located server.

ExpressVPN DNS leak testing

As you can see, our real identity remained hidden. The VPN didn't allow websites to see our real IP address, as it instead showed our virtual IP address. With this said, we conclude that ExpressVPN is airtight when it comes to keeping private data from leaking.

Speed & Performance

ExpressVPN Speed Test NOV 23

ExpressVPN is an excellent choice for media streaming and downloading files. It comes with extra-fast performance, even when using highly remote servers. Our Score: 9.5/10

To test this VPN’s performance, we’ll compare the speed of our connection with and without using the VPN in the background. We’ll start with our “bare” connection - that is, without a VPN session active.

Our baseline speed test gave us 581.09 Mbps for downloads and 57.99 Mbps for uploads. We expect any VPN to slow down our Web speed a bit because they make connections that take longer routes. So, let's see how ExpressVPN performs:

Download Speed Upload Speed Speed Reduction
Baseline Data 581.09 Mbps 57.99 Mbps 0%
US 540.03 Mbps 7.89 Mbps 7%
UK 545.36 Mbps 37.34 Mbps 6%
Canada 536.80 Mbps 6.94 Mbps 8%
India 527.98 Mbps 3.89 Mbps 9%
Australia 427.05 Mbps 3.29 Mbps 26.5%
Italy 548.77 Mbps 32.04 Mbps 5.5%

The table above shows that ExpressVPN only slowed us down by 10.3% on average. This is an amazing result, proving that ExpressVPN is one of the fastest VPNs you can get right now (and it still uses incredibly strong protocols).

We also liked how ExpressVPN handled long-distance connections. If you’re far from the USA and want to access services only available there, this VPN is a great option. The only downside is that ExpressVPN will cut your upload speed in a big way if you connect to remote servers.

Customer Support

ExpressVPN offers a comprehensive customer support section with plenty of useful material. At any moment, you'll find someone from the company to assist you. Our Score: 10/10

There really are numerous ways to get help with ExpressVPN. So, let's give you an overview of what to expect if you decide to become a subscriber:

Live Chat Support YES
Email Support YES
Installation Guides YES
FAQs YES
Active Blog YES

We'll also mention that ExpressVPN has an often-updated blog filled with highly interesting and useful information. You can follow it to learn about the latest ExpressVPN features and global events that affect your privacy.

Lastly, ExpressVPN also offers a Udemy course, teaching you how to protect your online security and privacy. It's available free of charge, has 28 lectures, and lasts about an hour. You don't have to be an ExpressVPN subscriber to enroll.

Pricing

ExpressVPN is a high-priced VPN. However, considering its overall value (especially if you want to invest in a long-term plan), this VPN's price seems like a great deal. Our Score: 9/10

ExpressVPN currently offers three subscription plans. As you can expect, you can save some money if you go for one of its long-term plans. Here's what you need to know.

How Much Does ExpressVPN Cost?

ExpressVPN starts at $6.67/month if you pick its long-term plan. However, the cost per month for this VPN is $12.95 if you wish to pay monthly.

All ExpressVPN plans have the same set of features. That means they all come with ultra-tough privacy protection, the ability to unblock any website, 8 simultaneous connections, and you'll be covered by a 30-day money-back policy. However, the 12-month plan comes bundled with a year of unlimited cloud backup from Backblaze.

Here's how much you'll need to pay for ExpressVPN based on its currently available plans:

ExpressVPN Pricing Total Price Per Month Savings
12 Months $99.95 $6.67 49%
6 Months $59.95 $9.99 23%
1 Month $12.95 $12.95 0%

You can find more information about how much is ExpressVPN via our dedicated guide, where we explain what exactly you get for your money. Use the provided links to learn more.

Is ExpressVPN Free?

No, ExpressVPN isn't free - it's a commercial VPN service without a free tier. However, this VPN comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, which means you can try it risk-free.

As explained in our guide on the ExpressVPN free trial, your purchase comes protected by the VPN's no-questions-asked 30-day money-back refund policy. However, that only applies to those who pay for ExpressVPN via its website.

ExpressVPN offers a 7-day free trial on iOS and Android. However, your Apple ID or Google Account must be associated with a payment method. You won't be charged immediately, but you'll be charged unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the free trial ends.

We'll also note that getting a refund from ExpressVPN is a no-hassle procedure. Learn more about that in our guide on how to cancel an ExpressVPN subscription.

ExpressVPN Comparison with Other VPN Providers

In general, ExpressVPN is miles ahead of its competitors, even though it does have a couple of minor downsides. To give you a better idea, we'll compare ExpressVPN to NordVPN, Surfshark, Private Internet Access, CyberGhost VPN, and IPVanish.

Final Thoughts - Is ExpressVPN Good?

Yes, we believe that ExpressVPN is more than good - it's the best VPN available right now. It checks all the right boxes, catering to the needs of beginners and highly advanced VPN users, leaving no stone unturned regarding your digital privacy.

As per our tests, ExpressVPN is highly secure and one of the fastest VPNs. That makes it a great option for privacy protection, media streaming, gaming, torrenting, and more.

It works out of the box without you having to tinker with its settings. Just install the VPN, launch it, and connect to a VPN server - and you'll be on your way toward a safer and more open Web.

That said, we highly recommend subscribing to ExpressVPN. In any case, you can count on its 30-day money-back policy, which means it comes as a 100% risk-free investment.

PROS

  • No data logging (regularly audited).
  • Incredibly polished interface.
  • Top-notch data encryption.
  • High-end VPN protocols.
  • RAM-only VPN servers.
  • 8 simultaneous connections.
  • Great for torrenting.
  • Great for online gaming.
  • Great for media streaming.
  • Works on any device.
  • 24/7 live chat support.

CONS

  • Owned by a corporation.
  • Pricier than its competitors.

FAQ

What Is ExpressVPN?

ExpressVPN is a high-speed, secure, and premium VPN service. It's registered as ExpressVPN Technologies Ltd., owned by Kape Technologies (a subsidiary of Unikmind Holdings), and based in the British Virgin Islands.

Is ExpressVPN Legit?

Yes, ExpressVPN is a legitimate VPN service. It has a reputation for preserving the privacy of its users without making any compromises. It's one of the most reputable VPNs available.

How Does ExpressVPN Work?

ExpressVPN works by routing your Web traffic through its servers. During that process, your IP address gets hidden, which means no one gets to track you online.

You can also use ExpressVPN to access restricted websites, download torrents safely, and optimize your Web connection for online gaming - among other things.

What Is ExpressVPN Used For?

ExpressVPN is used for protecting privacy on the Web, bypassing censorship, fighting against Internet trackers, and unblocking websites. You can also use it to get more content from the streaming platforms you already use, as well as to optimize your gaming sessions.

Who Owns ExpressVPN?

Unikmind Holdings now owns ExpressVPN through its subsidiary, Kape Technologies.

What Does ExpressVPN Do?

ExpressVPN keeps you safe online by preventing anyone from tracking you. It's also used to unblock websites, download torrents, as well as to play online games.

Is ExpressVPN Worth It?

Yes, ExpressVPN is definitely worth it. It's the best VPN on today's global market, coming from a trustworthy brand with expertise in cyber-security. Overall, it provides plenty of value. That's why we highly recommend ExpressVPN.

Does ExpressVPN Work in China?

Yes, ExpressVPN works in China. In fact, this has been one of the most popular VPNs for Internet users in China for many years now.

Is ExpressVPN Owned by China?

No, ExpressVPN isn't owned by any business entity originating in China. 

Does ExpressVPN Work with Netflix?

Yes, ExpressVPN works perfectly with Netflix. It allows you to access a wide range of content. Check out our detailed guide on how to watch Netflix with ExpressVPN.

Is ExpressVPN Legal in the US?

Yes, ExpressVPN is legal in the US. The United States doesn't have specific laws that prohibit the use of VPNs, so you can use ExpressVPN without any legal concerns.

Does ExpressVPN Slow Down the Internet?

Yes, ExpressVPN may slow down your Internet speed, like all VPNs. However, it's known for providing one of the fastest speeds among VPN services. So, while there may be some reduction in speed, it's minimal compared to many other VPNs on the market.

Can You Use ExpressVPN on Multiple Devices?

Yes, you can use ExpressVPN on up to 8 devices at the same time. You can install it on as many devices as you want, but you can have up to 8 sessions active at any given moment.

Does ExpressVPN Work with YouTube TV?

Yes, ExpressVPN works with YouTube TV. However, local live TV channels will depend on the specific US ZIP code you provide.

How Fast Is ExpressVPN?

ExpressVPN is blazingly fast. Our tests show an average speed drop of just 10.3%, solidifying its position as one of the fastest VPNs available right now.

Is NordVPN Better than ExpressVPN?

Yes, NordVPN is better than ExpressVPN. Beyond NordVPN's vast network and exceptional speeds, it provides additional features like dedicated IPs, a notable absence in ExpressVPN. This makes NordVPN a better option, especially if you want the full VPN experience.

Does ExpressVPN Offer Dedicated or Static IPs?

No, ExpressVPN doesn't provide dedicated/static IPs. ExpressVPN only uses dynamic IPs that rotate regularly. If you're looking for a VPN service with a dedicated/static IP feature, we strongly recommend NordVPN.

Review Summary

ExpressVPN is a trustworthy and reliable VPN service suitable for an extensive range of uses. We recommend it to both complete beginners and highly experienced VPN users in need of protecting their privacy, unblocking websites, streaming online media, and more.

9.5
Overall Score
Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation
9
Supported Platforms & Devices
10
Installation & Initial Configuration
10
Prominent Features
9
Server Count & Infrastructure
8.5
UI/UX Design & Ease of Use
10
Media Streaming & Torrenting Support
10
Security & Privacy
9.5
Speed & Performance
9.5
Customer Support
10
Pricing
9


For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: