ExpressVPN Review 2023

Right off the bat, we'll say that ExpressVPN is among the most capable VPNs available on the global market today. Even though its closest competitors (such as NordVPN, CyberGhost VPN, and Surfshark) provide similar feature sets, this ExpressVPN review will tell you that it's the only option right now that checks all the right boxes.

That's why ExpressVPN tops our list of the best VPN services, and our team has tested more than 65 VPNs so far, both mainstream and niche. More precisely, this VPN excels where it truly matters - packing a high-powered privacy punch and unmatched performance. It's a true example of how a commercial VPN should work, in every imaginable aspect.

However, before going any deeper, our ExpressVPN review will introduce you to this VPN by listing its most prominent characteristics. Check the table you'll see just below.

ExpressVPN Specs
Jurisdiction British Virgin Islands.
Logs No logging - independently audited.
Servers 3,000+ in 94 countries.
Simultaneous Connections 5.
Supported Devices Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, routers, and more.
Features Kill switch, split tunneling, private DNS, anti-tracking, and more.
Protocols OpenVPN, Lightway, L2TP/IPsec, IKEv2.
Supports Torrenting, Gaming, Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, and more.
Customer Support 24/7 live chat, email support, and more.
Price From $6.67/month.
Live Deal 49% OFF + 3 Months FREE
Our Score 9.5 out of 10.

In this in-depth ExpressVPN review, we'll be taking a very close look at each individual aspect of this VPN. We'll talk about its country of origin, supported platforms, UI design, features, VPN server network, performance, and more. To learn about our approach to testing VPN services (and yes, we always test them hands-on), here's our guide on how we review VPNs.

Also, know that we're keeping this review up-to-date at all times. So, you'll also learn what's new in ExpressVPN, which is crucial since this is one of the fastest-developing VPNs. Keeping up with the VPN industry has become increasingly hard, as the competition is tough. That said, we'll make it easy for you to understand today's position of ExpressVPN in the global VPN market.

Without further ado, let's jump right into our ExpressVPN review. Keep reading!

Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation

Map of British Virgin Islands

Despite the recent shift in ExpressVPN's ownership, our team believes ExpressVPN still deserves your trust due to its years-long commitment to privacy, no-logs policy, numerous audits, open-source software, and its involvement with cyber-sec alliances. Our Score: 9/10

The primary purpose of any VPN is to hide your IP address (and, therefore, your location) and help you stay anonymous online. However, this also means not every VPN will do its job in the best way possible. With that said, here's what to expect from ExpressVPN.

Where Does ExpressVPN Come From? Is It Part of the 5/9/14-Eyes Alliance?

Every company needs to regulate its operations as per its home country's laws. This is where the story about the '5/9/14 Eyes Alliance' comes into play.

It's said that '5/9/14 Eyes Alliance' countries have aggressive data logging laws, as they work together on exchanging data and information. This automatically puts VPNs from the USA, UK, and Australia (among other countries) in a problematic position.

With that said, know that ExpressVPN comes from the British Virgin Islands. This location seems to be an excellent choice since this United Kingdom territory has self-governing laws. However, it's crucial to note that ExpressVPN is no longer an independent company, as Kape Technologies acquired ExpressVPN in September 2021.

Kape Technologies is a massive company that runs a wide range of businesses. However, it's interesting to note that Kape also owns CyberGhost VPN, ZenMate VPN, and Private Internet Access (PIA) (here's more information about the VPNs owned by Kape Technologies). All of those are popular and capable VPNs, staying loyal to their no-logs policies.

Furthermore, know that Kape's most prominent shareholder (~55%) is Unikmind Holdings, owned by the same people as Kape Technologies. Both Unikmind and Kape come from the Isle of Man, part of the United Kingdom. However, when it comes to any potential legal requests, they're based on the jurisdiction of the VPN service (the British Virgin Islands).

To clear any confusion about ExpressVPN's upcoming acquisition, TechNadu's team approached the VPN with a series of questions. We were reassured that ExpressVPN would remain loyal to its no-logs policy. Also, it will prove its commitment to privacy and security with regular audits. Here's our full interview with ExpressVPN's vice president.

Lastly, ExpressVPN remains a part of the 'VPN Trust Initiative' and' ioXt Alliance' alongside pioneering several transparency initiatives. With that all that said, we believe that ExpressVPN's recent merger with Kape should not be a reason for concern. Of course, we'll make sure to update this article in case anything of interest comes up.

Did ExpressVPN Leak Private Data in the Past?

ExpressVPN came under the spotlight in January 2017, when its Turkey-based servers were seized by the country's authorities. That was an opportunity for the VPN to prove its claims of not collecting any data, and that's precisely what happened.

As it turned out, those (no-logs) claims were proven to be true. The authorities were not able to extract any information from the seized servers. That has also demonstrated the fact that the VPN doesn't have any backdoors built into their applications.

Speaking of backdoors, this is where we should mention ExpressVPN's CIO, Daniel Gericke, who turned out to also be a mercenary hacker for the United Arab Emirates. As reported by Reuters, Gericke worked on 'Project Raven' in the past, a surveillance operation focusing on exploiting zero-day flaws and taking over devices without any user interaction.

Everything said above about Gericke might seem in contrast to ExpressVPN's mission. However, the VPN defended its decision to hire Gericke, saying that his extensive knowledge has helped ExpressVPN create a bulletproof security and privacy-protecting system. More precisely, Gericke helped develop a 'Security Operations Center' while working on improving risk assessments and mitigation through red teaming.

Gericke continues to be employed by ExpressVPN, as he's seen as a highly valuable asset. And considering that ExpressVPN is one of the rare VPNs that have never had a data leak, we believe that their systems are more than well-equipped to preserve your digital privacy.

Lastly, in December 2017, ExpressVPN launched a project called 'Digital Research Lab.' The main goal of that action was to provide online tools for checking VPN data leaks. In the latest version of the VPN's software, you can find a set of useful tools that are the result of this initiative (once you dive into ExpressVPN's main menu).

Is ExpressVPN Safe?

Yes, ExpressVPN is one of the safest VPNs available. It uses AES-256 encryption, which means your data is 100% safe from tracking and any kind of malicious manipulation.

Also, ExpressVPN is capable of creating an ultra-secure VPN tunnel. It comes with a bulletproof way to hide your IP address, which is what makes you safer online. By hiding your IP, you will hide your location, protect your identity, and open up the Web.

Supported Platforms & Devices

List of Supported ExpressVPN Devices

ExpressVPN has done a fantastic job of offering apps for desktop and mobile platforms. Furthermore, you can use it on up to five devices at the same time. Our Score: 10/10

The following table gives you an overview of ExpressVPN's presence on desktop and mobile platforms. Take a quick look below, and then we'll expand this topic with helpful information.

Platform Compatibility

What needs to be highlighted is that ExpressVPN doesn't require manual configuration. Still, if you decide to go the manual route, the VPN is there to support you.

Some devices, such as game consoles, support ExpressVPN via different workarounds. In that case, your best bet is to set up ExpressVPN on a router and keep all your devices protected at once. That doesn't apply only to ExpressVPN but to all VPNs out there, as devices such as game consoles don't support VPN apps natively.

Just recently, this VPN introduced its very own hardware product, called "Aircove." It's a high-end Wi-Fi 6 router that comes with built-in VPN support. You can order Aircove from Amazon for $189.90, and it's available in the US for now. For more info, head over to our central ExpressVPN Aircove guide.

We'll also add that ExpressVPN is quick to adopt the latest technologies. Just recently, this VPN provider overhauled its macOS application and now supports Apple's M1 and M2 chips natively. That transition brought a noticeable improvement in performance while lowering the application's power consumption.

Also, know that TechNadu's team has been busy producing a range of guides, teaching you how to get started with this VPN. So, if you decide to subscribe, here's how to set up ExpressVPN on all of its supported devices. You'll also find our guide on how to install ExpressVPN on multiple devices to be helpful.

Installation & Initial Configuration

ExpressVPN User Account Dashboard

This VPN service has come up with an effortless installation method. Even complete beginners won't have a problem installing and configuring ExpressVPN. Our Score: 10/10

You can get started with using this VPN by visiting its official site. First and foremost, you need to get your ExpressVPN subscription before you do anything else. Then, pick a subscription plan, and you'll get your username and password afterward.

Once you log in using your new credentials (ExpressVPN's website > My Account), the VPN will offer assistance by detecting your system and offering a suitable application. All it takes to get started is to click on the 'Download' button.

Of course, you can also go with 'Set Up Your Devices' (found once you log in to your account on the ExpressVPN website), from where you can download different versions of this VPN. When it comes to mobile apps, all you need to do is download them from their respective app stores.

Installation Wizard Complete ExpressVPN macOS

The actual process of installing this VPN is very simple. There aren't any unusual offers or bundled software. After a few steps, ExpressVPN will install and launch.

At this moment, you will see a handy trick. Instead of using your username and password, you can copy an ExpressVPN activation code from your ExpressVPN account dashboard. That makes logging into the VPN as easy as possible - but this option is available on computers only. In other words, you'll need to input your email address and password on other devices.

Before you can start using the software, you will be asked to allow ExpressVPN to be launched during startup, and you can decide whether to send anonymous analytic data. It's up to you to enable or disable these options (and the same can be done later as well).

Prominent Features

ExpressVPN Features Listed on Its Website

ExpressVPN is managing to bring an excellent selection of basic/standard tools (all of which work great). It also caters to more advanced users via more complex features, which means that every potential user of this VPN should be covered well. Our Score: 9/10

ExpressVPN is among the most feature-rich VPN services. You get complete protection for your digital privacy, a leak-free tunnel for your data, as well as a plethora of advanced features.

Here's what to expect from ExpressVPN in terms of its features:

  • Full Data Leak Protection: Without any surprise, ExpressVPN is capable of creating an ultra-tough VPN tunnel. That means you won't have to worry about DNS or IP leaks, so no one will know what you do online. Just like its direct competitors, ExpressVPN can protect you from both IPv4 and IPv6 leaks.
  • High-End Data Encryption: ExpressVPN relies on AES-256 to encrypt your data, which is considered incredibly safe and secure. If you go with the VPN's Lightway protocol, you'll get a combination of AES-256-GCM and ChaCha20/Poly1305, switching between either of those types of encryption on the fly. That's one of the reasons why ExpressVPN's Lightway is among the fastest VPN protocols currently available.
  • Private DNS: To ensure the safety of your data, ExpressVPN uses its own private, encrypted DNS on every VPN server. That means your Web traffic is handled directly by the VPN, with no third parties involved. So, you won't have to worry about DNS hijacking or DNS blocking, giving you unrestricted access to practically any website out there.
  • TrustedServer Technology: This is one of the first VPN services to have switched to RAM-only servers, which means it doesn't use hard drives. In other words, even if your data gets to ExpressVPN's servers (which is close to impossible to happen), there won't be a way for the VPN to store that data as there are no hard drives in use.
  • Kill Switch (Network Lock): ExpressVPN's kill switch shuts down your Web connection if your VPN session gets interrupted by accident. That way, your data won't leak no matter what happens. Unlike its competitors, ExpressVPN's kill switch (called "Network Lock" in this case) is available on Windows, macOS, Linux, and routers. On top of that, it's also available on Android and even iOS - since recently.
General Preferences ExpressVPN Interface
  • Split Tunneling: This feature allows you to select applications that route their traffic through ExpressVPN's servers and which ones stick to your regular Internet connection. So, if you have applications that don't work with VPNs, you can use them without interruption. This feature is available on Windows, Android, and routers. It also works on macOS except for macOS 11 and above.
ExpressVPN Split Tunneling on Android
Split Tunneling via ExpressVPN's Android app.
  • Threat Manager: ExpressVPN's Threat Manager prevents your device from communicating with servers known for hosting/using trackers and malware. This is a DNS-level solution for filtering your traffic, which means it works on websites and apps. You'll need to use the Lightway protocol and enable this feature manually, available on macOS, iOS, and Linux, with support for Windows and Android coming soon.
  • Parallel Connections: Less powerful VPNs can take a while to establish a connection, often trying a series of servers before your session becomes active. However, thanks to a feature called Parallel Connections, ExpressVPN can connect to a server in under one second. Even if you're in a country with rigorous Internet blocks, this VPN will help you establish a secure connection in no time.
  • ExpressVPN Keys: This VPN comes with a premium-level password manager, available without any additional costs. Called ExpressVPN Keys, this password manager helps you keep your credentials safe, sign in to websites instantly, generate strong passwords, and fix weak passwords. It's available on iOS and Android, and it also comes as an extension for Chrome. This feature is in beta at the moment, expected to be rolled out gradually.

Server Count & Infrastructure

Basic Server Stats ExpressVPN

With 3,000+ servers available, you can connect to any part of the world. ExpressVPN's server network isn't the biggest out there - but it's more than what you'll need. Our Score: 8.5/10

In general, you'll want a VPN with plenty of servers. On the one hand, that lets you connect to a large number of countries and gets you a wide range of IP addresses. On the other hand, VPNs can achieve fast performance by offering plenty of servers for all their customers.

Server Count Info
Number of Servers 3,000+
Number of Locations 160
Number of Countries 94
Specific Cities Selection YES
Unlimited Switching YES

You should know that this VPN is on our list of VPNs with the most servers. However, some of its direct competitors offer 7,500+ servers. That sounds amazing in theory, but that doesn't mean you'll get faster performance by choosing a VPN with a larger number of servers.

By default, ExpressVPN presents you with an 'optimal' server bringing the best possible performance. In general, this is a nearby server that might even be located in your country.

However, you also have full freedom to connect to any of the 3,000 servers offered by this VPN. There's a search option letting you find a specific country or even a city.

Just recently, ExpressVPN started upgrading its server network by replacing 1Gbps servers with 10Gbps servers. That means you can now expect faster speeds, more reliable connections, and more frequent updates to the VPN's server network.

ExpressVPN's all-new servers are available in 20+ in-demand countries (check the full list below), which means that 70% of its global bandwidth now goes through the new servers.

ExpressVPN 10Gbps Servers - Full List of Servers / Locations
Australia – Sydney – 2 Italy – Cosenza Taiwan – 3 USA – Miami – 2
Austria Japan – Shibuya Thailand USA – New Jersey – 1
Canada - Toronto Japan – Tokyo Turkey USA – New Jersey – 3
Czech Republic Malaysia UK – Docklands USA – New York
France - Marseille Netherlands – Amsterdam UK – East London USA – Phoenix
France - Paris - 2 Netherlands – Rotterdam UK – London USA – San Francisco
Germany - Frankfurt – 1 Netherlands – The Hague Ukraine USA – Seattle
Germany – Frankfurt – 3 Poland USA – Atlanta USA – Washington DC
Germany – Nuremberg Singapore – CBD USA – Dallas
Hong Kong – 1 Singapore – Jurong USA – Los Angeles – 1
Hong Kong – 2 Spain – Madrid USA – Los Angeles – 2
India (via UK) Sweden USA – Los Angeles – 3
Indonesia Switzerland USA – Miami

As noted earlier, ExpressVPN doesn't impose any restrictions, so you're free to switch between servers as many times as you like. Disconnecting and connecting to another server takes only a few seconds, and the overall experience is quite fluid.

We'll also mention that, just like other VPNs, ExpressVPN implements modifications to its server network from time to time. For example, the VPN recently removed India-based servers as a way to protect the privacy of its users before India's privacy-invading data law had come into effect.

However, the VPN didn't just remove its India-based servers. It removed those previously found physically in India. Instead of those, it now offers two virtual locations (learn more about that just below) in the UK and Singapore, letting its users obtain Indian IP addresses.

Does ExpressVPN Use Virtual Server Locations?

Yes, ExpressVPN uses a small number of VPN virtual locations. More precisely, less than 3% of ExpressVPN's servers aren't physically located in their "end country."

To understand how ExpressVPN's virtual servers work, we'll give you an example. Let's say that you want to connect to a server in Argentina. For this country, the VPN uses servers located in Brazil. That means your Internet traffic will be routed through servers in Brazil, while you'll be assigned an Argentian IP so that your Web traffic appears to originate from that country.

In terms of virtual servers, ExpressVPN is front of its competitors. With only 3% of its servers being virtual, 97% of its servers are bare-metal servers owned by ExpressVPN.

ExpressVPN's Virtual Server Locations - Full List
Algeria (via the Netherlands) Colombia (via Brazil) Macau (via Singapore) Sri Lanka (via Singapore)
Andorra (via the Netherlands) Ecuador (via Brazil) Malta (via the Netherlands) Taiwan (via Hong Kong)
Argentina (via Brazil) Egypt (via the Netherlands) Monaco (via the Netherlands) Thailand (via Singapore)
Armenia (via the Netherlands) Guatemala (via Brazil) Mongolia (via Singapore) Turkey (via the Netherlands)
Bahamas (via the U.S.) India (via the UK) Montenegro (via the Netherlands) Ukraine (via Poland)
Bangladesh (via Singapore) India (via Singapore) Myanmar (via Singapore) Uruguay (via Brazil)
Belarus (via the Netherlands) Indonesia (via Singapore) Nepal (via Singapore) Uzbekistan (via the Netherlands)
Bhutan (via Singapore) Isle of Man (via the Netherlands) North Macedonia (via the Netherlands) Venezuela (via Brazil)
Bolivia (via Brazil) Jersey (via the Netherlands) Pakistan (via Singapore) Vietnam (via Singapore)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (via the Netherlands) Kazakhstan (via Singapore) Panama (via Brazil)
Brunei (via Singapore) Laos (via Singapore) Peru (via Brazil)
Cambodia (via Singapore) Liechtenstein (via the Netherlands) Philippines (via Singapore)
Chile (via Brazil) Malaysia (via Singapore) Slovenia (via the Netherlands)

UI/UX Design & Ease of Use

Animation Showing Home Screen of ExpressVPN on Mac

ExpressVPN comes with a simple UI. Even if this is your first time encountering a VPN application, you shouldn't have a problem using it. Our Score: 10/10

In this segment, we'll explore ExpressVPN's applications for both desktop and mobile platforms. And considering that this VPN offers a Web browser extension, why not check that as well? With that said, keep on reading our hands-on ExpressVPN review.

How Well Does ExpressVPN Work on Desktop Platforms?

We’ll start with the main screen, whose biggest portion is reserved for a prominent ON/OFF button. When you connect to a server, it will go green (along with its colorful background) – indicating that the VPN is active. Otherwise, the button stays red.

ExpressVPN Home Screen MacOS

Underneath this button, you'll see your currently selected server. To pick another server, click on 'Selected Location.' Then, you will also see two additional suggestions, a recommended server ('Smart Location'), as well as your previously used server ('Recent location').

In the top-left corner, there’s a hamburger button (three vertical lines). The first option here is called 'VPN Locations,' and as you can expect, this is where you can check out the available servers (as you can see in the image above). ExpressVPN presents a list of recommended servers, but you're also free to review its entire server network and more.

Running an ExpressVPN Server Speed Test

The next item in the hamburger menu is called 'Speed Test.' Using this tool, you can instruct ExpressVPN to test its servers (based on your physical location). This way, you will get three pieces of information: speed index, latency, and download speed. Once you do a speed test, you can double-click on any server's name, and ExpressVPN will connect you immediately.

Now, we'll check another item from this menu, called 'Preferences.' This is where you'll find six tabs, each bringing a distinct set of options. Here’s a quick overview:

  • General: This tab lets you set the VPN to launch every time you power on your computer, and you can let the app connect to a specific server automatically. You can also decide if you’d like to use the 'Network Lock' feature, which acts as a kill switch. Lastly, you can fine-tune your split-tunneling options (if available on your system).
  • Protocol: ExpressVPN supports an extensive range of protocols, where each comes with its own set of benefits and downsides. So, this is where you can easily choose which one to use. You can choose from OpenVPN (UDP/TCP), Lightway, IKEv2, and L2TP/IPsec on macOS and Windows.
Animation Browsing ExpressVPN Preferences on Mac
  • Account: This tab lets you check the status of your account. You can see when it's due to expire, and you can refer friends to get another free 30 days of use.
  • Shortcuts: Once you connect to a secure server, ExpressVPN provides a series of shortcuts to various apps on your computer/smartphone. So, let's say that you use Netflix often. This means you can set a shortcut to Netflix here, so you can easily access this streaming platform right from ExpressVPN's UI.
Shortcuts Interface ExpressVPN Preferences
  • Browsers: In case you'd like to find out how to install Web browser extensions, this is where you can take a look. However, using a native app will protect all incoming and outgoing traffic using the highest possible encryption, which beats any Web browser extension with ease.
  • Threat Manager: ExpressVPN comes with a DNS-based blocker that works against trackers used by websites and apps. As such, 'Threat Manager' works only while you're connected to a VPN server. This tab allows you to enable that feature.
  • Advanced: The final tab lets you fine-tune advanced options that seem to be optimized by default. You can prevent IPv6 detection, enroll in sending anonymous usage data back to ExpressVPN, and more.

The rest of the options within the hamburger menu are pretty self-explanatory. You can find support documentation, check how to install ExpressVPN on other devices, refer friends, and more. All of these options are actually links to the VPN's official website.

How Well Does ExpressVPN Work on Mobile Platforms?

ExpressVPN looks and feels the same across all of its supported platforms. With that said, know that this VPN's Android and iOS apps are incredibly simple to use, and they come highly polished. So, let's take a closer look at those.

ExpressVPN UI on iPhone
ExpressVPN's interface on an iPhone.

For the most part, ExpressVPN's Android and iOS apps look the same. On their home screens, you'll find a prominent ON/OFF button used to connect to a server (and later on, disconnect). You can tap on the 'three dots' icon (next to the name of your previously used server) to reveal all of ExpressVPN's locations, where you'll get to see recommended locations, the entire list of the VPN's servers, or your favorites.

To dive deeper, you can tap on the 'Options' tab, found at the bottom of ExpressVPN's UI. This is where you can access the app's settings, letting you switch between different VPN protocols. You can also access your account information, as well as use ExpressVPN's digital tools for checking for any IP, DNS, and WebRTC leaks.

New ExpressVPN Interface on Android
ExpressVPN's appearance on Android.

Speaking of ExpressVPN's settings on mobile devices, here's what you can expect to tweak.

  • Auto-Connect (Android & iOS): Don't confuse this option with a kill switch. ExpressVPN's 'auto-connect' reconnects you to the previously chosen server if something unexpected happens. On Android, you can also decide to start ExpressVPN once Android starts up.
  • Network Protection (Android): This is where you'll find ExpressVPN's kill switch. It can be auto-activated when ExpressVPN is unable to connect (or switch) to a server.
  • Split Tunneling (Android): Then, another Android-only feature. Using split tunneling, you get to decide which apps can use the VPN's secure tunnel (and vice versa).
  • VPN Protocol (Android & iOS): This is where you can switch to a different protocol.

All in all, ExpressVPN is a joy to use - no matter if you have an Android or iOS device. In terms of the VPN's performance, both of those apps are doing an excellent job. ExpressVPN feels smooth, even when used on older Android/iOS phones.

How Well Do ExpressVPN's Web Browser Extensions Work?

ExpressVPN brings extensions for Google's Chrome, Microsoft's Edge, and Mozilla's Firefox. You can also use those on Brave and Vivaldi browsers. All of those are basically the same, in the sense that they bring the same set of features.

ExpressVPN Chrome Extension

ExpressVPN's Web browser extensions are unique when compared to what other VPNs offer. To use them, you also need to install ExpressVPN's desktop app. Therefore, these extensions act as a remote control for the app, giving you access to all 3,000+ of ExpressVPN's servers.

As soon as you download and install one of ExpressVPN's extensions, you'll be greeted by a familiar UI. Using the home screen, you can connect to a 'smart location' or pick from a recently used server. You can also connect to any server manually.

Settings Interface ExpressVPN Chrome Extension

If you click on the hamburger button in the top-left corner, this will reveal additional options, as explained below.

  • Settings: You can set ExpressVPN's extensions to connect at launch, show desktop notifications, and send anonymous reports to the VPN (for diagnostic purposes).
  • Privacy & Security: This is where you can enable WebRTC leak protection, hide your location by stopping HTML5 geolocation services, and automatically switch to HTTPS addresses.
  • Account: Using this tab, you can review the status of your account, when it's due to expire, and manage your account's details.

All in all, we really like ExpressVPN's approach to Web browser extensions. Instead of offering a half-baked solution, you get the best possible protection for your data, in addition to ExpressVPN's entire army of servers.

Media Streaming, Torrenting, and Gaming Support

Unblocking Netflix via ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN can easily unblock a huge number of media streaming services, with Netflix US included. Plus, it fully supports P2P traffic, with no limitations involved. Our Score: 10/10

We've checked whether ExpressVPN unblocks popular media streaming platforms, and you'll find the results of our tests in the following table.

auto
Netflix US YES
Hulu YES
Disney Plus YES
Discovery Plus YES
BBC iPlayer YES
Amazon Prime Video YES
Torrenting (P2P) Support YES

As you can see, ExpressVPN is one of the best VPNs in terms of media streaming. It's capable of accessing just about any popular OTT platform. However, it works equally well with regional and less popular platforms as well. With that said, we're 100% sure that you'll get to unblock any streaming platform you want - from anywhere in the world.

Keep in mind that connecting to a server near you should get you the best possible download speeds. This means you can anonymously download torrents and even bypass ISP throttling.

Does ExpressVPN Work With Netflix, Hulu, BBC iPlayer, Prime Video & Disney Plus?

Unblocking Disney Plus via ExpressVPN

Yes - ExpressVPN works with Netflix, Hulu, BBC iPlayer, Amazon Prime Video, Disney Plus, Discovery Plus, and a huge number of both popular and less popular media streaming services.

It's also worth noting that you can unblock a number of country-specific versions of Netflix (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, and the United Kingdom). The same could be said about Amazon Prime Video.

When it comes to other websites that work with ExpressVPN, you can count on ITV, ESPN, HBO GO, and more. Then, ExpressVPN also unblocks Facebook, Spotify, Twitter, Instagram, Wikipedia, Google, and Skype - in countries where these Web apps aren't available.

Which ExpressVPN Server Works Best for Netflix?

Picking a Server to Unblock Netflix via ExpressVPN

Based on our experience, any of the 'USA - New Jersey 1/2/3' group of servers will let you unblock Netflix. Moreover, the 'USA - New York' server should work great as well. We've had plenty of luck unblocking other streaming services using those servers as well.

Of course, the above-mentioned servers are used to unblock the US version of Netflix. In addition to that, this VPN unblocks Netflix in the following countries: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, and the United Kingdom. Feel free to try other countries as well, as ExpressVPN is improving its services continuously.

To find the best Netflix-friendly servers for those individual countries, we recommend talking to ExpressVPN's customer support team (you can do that via the VPN's website).

Can You Use ExpressVPN With Kodi?

Using Kodi and ExpressVPN

Yes, you can use ExpressVPN with Kodi. In fact, we highly recommend using ExpressVPN no matter what type of Kodi addons you use.

Kodi and ExpressVPN run side-by-side. This won't add any complexity to your usual workflow, as ExpressVPN has apps for pretty much all of the currently popular platforms. Simply launch the VPN, connect to a server, and then use Kodi like you normally would.

Is ExpressVPN Good Enough for Torrenting (P2P)?

P2P File Download Over ExpressVPN

Yes, ExpressVPN is an excellent choice for torrenting.

This VPN doesn't impose any limitations on P2P traffic. So, this type of traffic is supported on all of its servers. To secure your privacy while downloading torrents, simply connect to the nearest server, which should get you the fastest possible speed.

We have a detailed guide on how to use ExpressVPN for torrenting. Click the provided link to learn more.

Is ExpressVPN Good Enough for Online Gaming?

Gaming Over ExpressVPN

Yes, ExpressVPN can also be used for online gaming.

Considering it has more than 3,000 servers, ExpressVPN gives you plenty of freedom when choosing an optimal server based on your gaming needs. Still, keep in mind that ExpressVPN will slow you down a bit, so it's crucial to have a fast Web connection.

ExpressVPN doesn't really have gaming-optimized servers. Instead, you can use any of its servers. In addition to that, you can choose from a wide range of protocols. This allows you to reduce lag and increase performance in terms of online gaming - on both local and long-distance connections.

Security & Privacy

ExpressVPN Terms of Service Official Website

ExpressVPN won't leak your data. Also, it won't track what you do online. With that said, we believe that ExpressVPN is a great tool for preserving your privacy. Our Score: 9.5/10

To find out if we should really trust ExpressVPN with your data, we will take a look at three aspects: VPN protocols, logging policy, and IP/DNS leaks. This should give us plenty of information about the way our personal data is used.

ExpressVPN Protocols

ExpressVPN offers a range of VPN protocols. However, some of those are available on specific devices only. First, let's give you an overview of what VPN protocols to expect.

Supported Protocols
OpenVPN Lightway IKEv2 L2TP/IPsec
Windows YES YES YES YES
macOS YES YES YES NO
Linux YES YES NO NO
iOS NO YES YES NO
Android YES YES NO NO
Tip

In case you'd like to take a deeper dive into VPN protocols, TechNadu offers an in-depth guide explaining everything you need to know. So, if you've been wondering which VPN protocol to use, click on the provided link, and you'll get your answer.

OpenVPN

By default, ExpressVPN uses OpenVPN across all of its apps (except iOS). This is a highly secure and trusted VPN protocol, in use for many years now. This is the protocol of choice for many VPN providers, as it brings fast Internet speeds - even when combined with high-end encryption.

ExpressVPN offers two variants of the OpenVPN protocol - UDP and TCP. The UDP variant comes optimized for speed, while the TCP variant is optimized for connection reliability. You can jump between those by opening the VPN's settings panel (hiding behind the hamburger button on the VPN's home screen).

Lightway

As per the VPN's explanation, Lightway is incredibly lightweight and incredibly powerful at the same time. This means you can count on instantaneous VPN connectivity and high-end protection. On top of that, Lightway is open-sourced, which means anyone can inspect its integrity and the way it functions.

One of the best things about Lightway is that it's built for mobile connectivity. As you switch between Wi-Fi, 4G, and 5G, your connection won't drop. Instead, ExpressVPN will easily switch on its own without requiring any user input.

IKEv2

This is a relatively new protocol known for its performance and speed. In general, it's best used on mobile devices, especially if you want to stream online media. However, this protocol isn't available on Linux, and you can't really customize it. ExpressVPN offers IKEv2 on Windows, macOS, and iOS.

L2TP/IPSec

L2TP has also been used for many years now. However, due to its age, it's not as secure as other protocols. You can think of it as a step up in comparison to PPTP. However, OpenVPN is still many steps beyond L2TP.

ExpressVPN offers this protocol on Windows, paired with AES-256 encryption. As such, it could be a viable alternative to OpenVPN in certain cases.

Does ExpressVPN Log Private Data?

After taking a very close look at ExpressVPN’s logging policy, we can say that this VPN provider doesn’t collect your personally identifiable information. However, know that ExpressVPN does collect some information nonetheless.

ExpressVPN collects app diagnostic data, including crash reports, usability diagnostics, and VPN connection diagnostics. Also, information regarding the total sum of data transferred is collected with the purpose of improving ExpressVPN's performance. None of the previously mentioned data types is connected to your username.

Then, we already told you about ExpressVPN's TrustedServer technology. By having data centers not relying on hard drives - the VPN avoids logging any information. We're talking about RAM in this case, which means that even anonymized data is perfectly safe.

We should also mention ExpressVPN's audits, the last of which focused on its Windows, macOS, and Linux applications. Those were 3 independent audits done by F-Secure and Cure53, proving that ExpressVPN comes free of vulnerabilities. Therefore, no matter which of those desktop apps you use, you can be 100% sure that your IP address and your sensitive information will never leak.

There was also a recent audit done by KPMG and Cure53, focusing on the VPN's data logging practices. As per those audits, ExpressVPN doesn't collect any personally identifiable information. And even if someone asks for your data, ExpressVPN won't be able to provide anything - as it has no data on its servers.

That said, ExpressVPN is ahead of its competition in terms of transparency. This VPN goes through regular audits to prove that its systems are built from the ground up to preserve and protect your privacy on the Internet.

Will ExpressVPN Leak/Expose Your Private Data?

As you can see from the screenshot below, ExpressVPN has managed to hide our IP address. Besides, DNS addresses point to ExpressVPN's servers only. Once we checked our geolocation data, it pointed to a location in the USA - which is great since we've used a US-located server.

DNS Leak Test ExpressVPN

As you can see, our real identity remained hidden. The VPN didn't allow websites to see our real IP address, as it instead showed our virtual IP address. With this said, we conclude that ExpressVPN is airtight when it comes to keeping private data from leaking.

Speed & Performance

Watching Netflix via ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN is an excellent choice for media streaming and downloading files. It comes with extra-fast performance, even when using highly remote servers. Our Score: 10/10

Finally, it's time to check this VPN's performance. First, we are going to check the speed of our 'naked' connection - so, without using the VPN. Then, we'll proceed to connect to the nearest server, then to a nearby location, and finally to a remote (long-distance) server.

ExpressVPN Speed Test

To truly get to know ExpressVPN's performance, we've tested a wide range of its servers. First, we started with local speed tests. Then, we expanded to distant countries to check how long-distance VPN connections work (in relation to our physical location).

Baseline Data Prior to Testing ExpressVPN
Baseline Data Prior to Testing ExpressVPN.

The image above shows our Web connection's stats - without using a VPN. We checked our 'naked' Web connection to establish baseline stats in terms of download and upload speeds.

Local Speed Tests

In this round of tests, we connected to servers in Italy and the United Kingdom, checking how ExpressVPN's nearby connections work. So, let's talk about the results.

ExpressVPN Server in Italy Performance
Download/upload speeds of an ExpressVPN server in Italy.

By letting ExpressVPN connect us to the 'fastest' server, the VPN connected us to a server in Italy (Cosenza). We received 536.88 Mbps for downloads and 30.48 Mbps for uploads.

As you can see, there's very little throttling involved. ExpressVPN's "Cosenza" server is a brand-new 10Gbps server, which proves that ExpressVPN has done a magnificent job of upgrading its infrastructure lately.

ExpressVPN Server in UK Performance
Download/upload speeds of an ExpressVPN server in the UK.

Then, we also tested a server in the United Kingdom (Docklands). We managed to get 523.20 Mbps for downloads and 22.89 Mbps for uploads during this round of speed tests. Once again, absolutely astonishing results.

Long-Distance Speed Tests

Now, it's time to check how long-distance VPN connections work. For this round of tests, we connected to servers all around the world, from the USA to Australia.

ExpressVPN Server in USA Performance
Download/upload speeds of an ExpressVPN server in the US.

A server in the United States (New Jersey) performed exceptionally well. We got 517.91 Mbps for downloads and 7.49 Mbps for uploads. You can see that our upload speed went down quite a bit, but our download speed remained steady and fast.

ExpressVPN Server in Canada Performance
Download/upload speeds of an ExpressVPN server in Canada.

Unsurprisingly, a server in Canada (Toronto) performed admirably as well. We got 491.91 Mbps for downloads and 6.96 Mbps for uploads. Both the USA and Canada are popular 'destinations' for VPN users, so it's good to know that ExpressVPN provides a pleasurable experience overall.

We certainly didn't want to leave India out of our testing. A server in India (a virtual location routed through the UK) managed to get us 517.69 Mbps for downloads and 3.99 Mbps for uploads.

ExpressVPN Server in India Performance
Download/upload speeds of an ExpressVPN server in India (via the UK).

And lastly, we also checked a server in Australia (Melbourne). We managed to get 421.92 Mbps for downloads and 3.53 Mbps for uploads.

ExpressVPN Server in Australia Performance
Download/upload speeds of an ExpressVPN server in Australia.

So, How Well Does ExpressVPN Perform?

Finally, let's make sense of all those numbers. To see how ExpressVPN performed in our tests, check out the following table. And then, we'll discuss the following results.

Speed Test
  Download Speed Upload Speed Speed Reduction
Baseline Speed 572.98 Mbps 57.56 Mbps 0%
Italy (Cosenza) 536.88 Mbps 30.48 Mbps 6.3%
UK (Docklands) 523.20 Mbps 22.89 Mbps 8.6%
USA (New Jersey) 517.91 Mbps 7.49 Mbps 9.6%
Canada (Toronto) 491.91 Mbps 6.96 Mbps 14.1%
India (via the UK) 517.69 Mbps 3.99 Mbps 9.6%
Australia (Melbourne) 421.92 Mbps 3.53 Mbps 26.3%

If you want us to give you a concrete number - we could say that ExpressVPN slowed us down by 12.4% on average. This is an absolutely astonishing result, showing that ExpressVPN is indeed one of the fastest VPNs you'll find right now (while still letting you use incredibly strong protocols).

We were impressed with how ExpressVPN worked in terms of long-distance connections. So, if you're somewhere far from the USA and if you want to unblock services available in this country only, know that this VPN is an excellent choice.

What Kind of Performance Can You Expect? When it comes to any VPN, it's good to have a fast Web connection, to begin with. With that said, ExpressVPN will impact the speed of your Web connection up to a degree - but not by much.

However, speaking in general, ExpressVPN is a fast-performing VPN that works equally well with local and long-distance connections. It's actually among the fastest VPN services we ever tested (and we tested 65+ VPNs so far).

There are many variables in this equation, so it's hard to predict what kind of performance you will receive based on your physical location. However, also know that there's plenty you can do to speed up a slow VPN.

Customer Support

Online Support Center of ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN offers a comprehensive customer support section with plenty of useful material. At any moment, you'll find someone from the company to assist you. Our Score: 10/10

There really are numerous ways to get help with ExpressVPN. So, let's give you an overview of what to expect if you decide to become a subscriber:

  • Live Chat Support: First and foremost, there's a live chat option on the ExpressVPN site, available for anyone (not just subscribers). You won't find long queues, and ExpressVPN's team will assist you in a very friendly manner. Also, this option is available 24/7.
  • Setup Instructions: ExpressVPN offers comprehensive set-up instructions for each of the devices that it supports. There are also in-depth guides on how to get the most out of this VPN for watching videos, using it with NAS devices, and more.
  • Troubleshooting Guides: If you have technical questions, you can find guides related to your account and payments, connectivity problems, log file errors, and more.
  • Email & Support Ticket: If you'd like to ask for help directly from ExpressVPN, there's a convenient way to open a support ticket or send an email. However, we suggest you go with the live chat option first, as that's definitely the quickest way to resolve any issues.

We'll also mention that ExpressVPN has an often-updated blog filled with highly interesting and useful information. You can follow it to learn about the latest ExpressVPN features and global events that affect your privacy.

Lastly, ExpressVPN also offers a Udemy course, teaching you how to protect your online security and privacy. It's available free of charge, has 28 lectures, and lasts about 1 hour. You don't have to be an ExpressVPN subscriber to enroll.

Pricing

Latest ExpressVPN Subscription Pricing Plans

ExpressVPN is a high-priced VPN. However, considering its overall value and especially if you want to invest in a long-term plan, this VPN's price seems like a great deal. Our Score: 9/10

ExpressVPN currently offers three subscription plans. As you can expect, you can save some money if you go for one of its long-term plans. Here's what you need to know.

How Much Is ExpressVPN?

ExpressVPN starts at $6.67/month if you pick its long-term plan. However, if you wish to pay monthly, this VPN will cost you $12.95/month.

All ExpressVPN plans have the same set of features. That means they all come with ultra-tough privacy protection, the ability to unblock any website, 5 simultaneous connections, and you'll be covered by a 30-day money-back policy. The only difference is in their price.

Here's how much you'll need to pay for ExpressVPN, based on its currently available plans:

  • 1-Month Plan: This subscription plan allows you to pay each month and comes priced at $12.95. You'll be charged $12.95 every single month - for as long as your account is active. Since you'll be covered by ExpressVPN's 30-day money-back policy, this plan can serve as a trial, as it allows you to get your money back (if you change your mind).
  • 6-Month Plan: The price of this plan comes down to $9.99 per month, which means you'll be billed $59.95 every 6 months. In comparison to ExpressVPN's monthly plan, you'll get to save 23%, but you'll need to pay upfront.
  • 12-Month Plan (+3 Free Months): The price of this plan comes down to $6.67 per month, which means you'll save 49% compared to the VPN's monthly plan. You'll be billed $99.95 every 12 months. However, your first billing period will last 15 months in total, as ExpressVPN will give you 3 extra months.
Pricing
  Total Price Per Month Savings
1 Month $12.95 $12.95 0%
6 Months $59.95 $9.99 23%
12 (+3) Months $99.95 $6.67 49%

Is ExpressVPN Free?

No, ExpressVPN isn't free - as it's a commercial VPN service without a free tier. However, this VPN comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, which means you can try it risk-free.

As explained in our guide on the ExpressVPN free trial, your purchase comes protected by the VPN's no-questions-asked 30-day money-back refund policy. However, that only applies to those who pay for ExpressVPN via its website.

ExpressVPN offers a 7-day trial on iOS and Android. However, your Apple ID or Google Account must be associated with a payment method. You won't be charged immediately, but you'll be charged unless you cancel before your 7-day trial ends.

We'll also note that getting a refund from ExpressVPN is a no-hassle procedure. Learn more about that in our guide on how to cancel an ExpressVPN subscription.

ExpressVPN Comparison with Other VPN Providers

ExpressVPN, CyberGhost VPN, and NordVPN are among the most popular VPNs right now. They offer a similar set of features while promising to protect your data in the best possible way. With that said, you can already guess that subtle differences are what matters here.

ExpressVPN vs. CyberGhost VPN vs. NordVPN
  ExpressVPN CyberGhost VPN NordVPN
Jurisdiction SAFE SAFE SAFE
Data Logging NO NO NO
Encryption AES-256 AES-256 AES-256
Number of Servers 3,000+ 9,000+ 5,500+
Number of Countries 94 90+ 60
Number of Connections 5 7 6
Speed/Performance VERY FAST FAST FAST
Kill Switch YES YES YES
Split Tunneling YES YES NO
Netflix Support YES YES YES
Hulu Support YES YES YES
Prime Video Support YES YES YES
Disney+ Support YES YES YES
Live Chat YES YES YES
Free Trial YES YES YES
Price (Monthly) $12.95/month $12.99/month $11.95/month

Final Thoughts - Is ExpressVPN Worth It?

Homepage of ExpressVPN Official Website

Yes, we believe that ExpressVPN is more than worth it - as it's the best VPN available right now. It checks all the right boxes, catering to the needs of beginners and highly advanced VPN users, leaving no stone unturned regarding your digital privacy.

As per our tests, ExpressVPN is highly secure and one of the fastest VPNs. That makes it a great option for privacy protection, media streaming, gaming, torrenting, and more. It works out of the box, without you having to tinker with its settings. Just install the VPN, launch it, and connect to a VPN server - and you'll be on your way toward a safer and more open Web.

That said, we highly recommend subscribing to ExpressVPN. In any case, you can count on its 30-day money-back policy, which means it comes as a 100% risk-free investment.

PROS

  • No data logging (regularly audited).
  • Incredibly polished interface.
  • High-end data encryption.
  • High-end VPN protocols.
  • RAM-only VPN servers.
  • 3,000+ obfuscated servers.
  • Great for torrenting.
  • Great for online gaming.
  • Great for media streaming.
  • Works on any device.
  • 24/7 live chat support.

CONS

  • 5 simultaneous connections.
  • 3,000+ servers (but in 90+ countries).
  • Owned by a corporation.
  • Pricier than its competitors.

FAQ

What Is ExpressVPN?

ExpressVPN is a commercial VPN service owned by Kape Technologies, operating since 2009. It's one of the most reputable VPN brands, with around 4 million subscribers.

Is ExpressVPN Legit?

Yes, ExpressVPN is a legit VPN service. It has a reputation for preserving the privacy of its users without making any compromises. It's one of the most reputable VPNs available.

How Does ExpressVPN Work?

ExpressVPN works by routing your Web traffic through its servers. During that process, your IP address gets hidden, which means no one gets to track you online.

You can also use ExpressVPN to access restricted websites, download torrents safely, and optimize your Web connection for online gaming - among other things.

Is ExpressVPN Good?

Yes, ExpressVPN is more than good - it's the best VPN service available at the moment. It's miles ahead of its competitors in terms of performance, security, and ease of use.

Where Is ExpressVPN Based?

ExpressVPN is based in the British Virgin Islands, so it's outside of the jurisdiction of the 5/9/14-Eyes Alliance. Thanks to its country of origin, ExpressVPN is free of any laws that could force it to collect your data.

What Does ExpressVPN Do?

ExpressVPN keeps you safe online by preventing anyone from tracking you. It's also used to unblock websites, download torrents, as well as to play online games.

Does ExpressVPN Work in China?

Yes, ExpressVPN works in China. In fact, this has been one of the most popular VPNs for Internet users in China for many years now.

Review Summary

ExpressVPN is a trustworthy and reliable VPN service suitable for an extensive range of uses. We recommend it to both complete beginners and highly experienced VPN users in need of protecting their privacy, unblocking websites, streaming online media, and more.

9.5
Overall Score
Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation
9
Supported Platforms & Devices
10
Installation & Initial Configuration
10
Prominent Features
9
Server Count & Infrastructure
8.5
UI/UX Design & Ease of Use
10
Media Streaming & Torrenting Support
10
Security & Privacy
9.5
Speed & Performance
10
Customer Support
10
Pricing
9

Add a Comment

Latest
How to Watch Junior Bake Off 2023 (Season 8) Online from Anywhere
Get ready to watch juniors show off their baking skills! Junior Bake Off 2023 (Season 8) is all set to be aired!...
How to Watch How I Met Your Father Season 2 Online from Anywhere
How I Met Your Father Season 2 is set to hit the screens pretty soon. We have the premiere date, plot, cast,...
How to Watch Better Date Than Never Online: Stream the Dating Docuseries from Anywhere
Are you a docuseries lover? If so, we have a piece of exciting news! Better Date Than Never, a new six-episode series,...
Table of Contents
For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari