Reviews

NordVPN Review 2024

By TechNadu Staff / January 10, 2024

Ranking highly on our list of the best VPN services, NordVPN is undoubtedly one of the most competent VPNs around. It's renowned for being a highly sophisticated provider, adequately meeting the needs of advanced and novice users. Headquartered in Panama, a country outside the infamous "14 Eyes Alliance" jurisdiction, this provider protects online privacy without any external interference.

This VPN also guarantees digital security by featuring the AES-256-CBC cipher and ChaCha20 protocol encryption. This solid encryption, combined with an externally-audited no-logs policy, ensures true anonymity. Nonetheless, there have been some problematic situations with security and privacy.

Although an isolated case, NordVPN was hacked in 2018, with the hacker gaining access to the VPN's Finland-based data centers. However, NordVPN's solid team quickly repelled the attack, and no personal data leaked.

In terms of performance, it features a NordLynx protocol guaranteeing stable connections and top speed for gaming, streaming, and torrenting. In truth, this VPN checks most of the right boxes, making it a near-perfect VPN provider. But is NordVPN right for you?

That's one of the many questions our hands-on NordVPN review will answer. Before we delve deeper, let's check some of the basic facts about this VPN provider.

Jurisdiction Panama.
Logs No logs (independently audited).
Servers 6,000+ in 61 countries.
Simultaneous Connections 6.
Supported Devices Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, routers, browsers and more.
Features Kill Switch, split tunneling, private DNS, Threat Protection Lite, and plenty more.
Protocols NordLynx, IKEv2/IPsec, OpenVPN.
Supports Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, torrenting, gaming, and more.
Customer Support Email, 24/7 live chat, tutorials, and FAQs.
Price From $3.39/month.
Our Score 9.5 out of 10.
Live Deal Save 67% OFF (2-year plan)

This NordVPN review covers everything about the service: its legality, safety, how it works, setup, pricing, and more. To learn more about our VPN testing processes, please read our guide on how we review VPNs.  

You'll also learn what's new in NordVPN, as it constantly innovates. We're making sure to keep this review up-to-date at all times, making it easier for you to make up your mind about NordVPN.

Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation

NordVPN has had certain problems in the past. However, the fact is that this VPN remains one of the most transparent and user-friendly VPNs out there. Our Score: 8.5/10

When choosing a VPN, you must know whether you can trust it. One of the best ways to find a trustworthy VPN is to check its background. You'll want to know about its jurisdiction as well as if there were any problematic data leaks in the past.

Where Is NordVPN Based?

NordVPN is based in Panama (the company behind NordVPN is called 'Nord Security - NordSec Ltd' / previously known as 'Tefincom S.A.'). This was a good choice as this country has no data retention laws that could force VPNs into collecting your private data.

Also, Panama is not a member of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance, a group of countries with mandatory data retention laws and aggressive mass surveillance operations.

It should be noted that certain rumors were circulating about this VPN a while back. According to those, NordVPN was owned by a company called Tesonet, based in Lithuania. Even though a connection exists between NordVPN and Tesonet (both of those brands come from the same team), there's nothing malicious in that connection.

In October 2021, NordVPN's parent company (Nord Security) acquired Atlas VPN, a relatively new VPN service known for offering a free tier. In February 2022, Nord Security merged with Surfshark, another well-known VPN service. That means NordVPN's parent company has close business relations with Atlas VPN and Surfshark, but that's where any connections between those VPNs end.

More precisely, NordVPN, Atlas VPN, and Surfshark have their own development paths and product roadmaps. They target different types of users and customers, and there's no data sharing involved between those brands.

If you'd like to take a much deeper dive into NordVPN's business structure and relations to other cybersecurity companies, we have a guide answering the question of who owns NordVPN.

Did NordVPN Leak Personal Data in the Past?

No, NordVPN has never leaked personal data in the past. It has a strict no-logs policy, and it promises not to collect your personal data. You'll be happy to know that NordVPN looks to be sticking to that promise by employing strict protocols that prevent any kind of unauthorized access to their servers.

Still, that doesn't mean there weren't any problematic situations in this VPN's past.

In September 2018, it was revealed that NordVPN had contained a privilege escalation bug that (in theory) could have exposed some of the user data (which didn't happen). However, this bug was fixed before the report became public.

In April 2019, there were reports of strange behavior related to NordVPN's data flow through the VPN's servers. However, the official explanation soon followed - saying that was caused by NordVPN's anti-censorship mechanism (nothing suspicious, once again).

We've also learned that NordVPN was hacked in 2018 after an unknown hacker managed to access one of the VPN's Finland-based data centers. As NordVPN explained, this was an isolated case that didn't endanger any personal information.

Is NordVPN Safe and Legal to Use?

Yes, NordVPN is safe and legal because it uses industry-standard encryption and VPN tunnels to protect you from hackers and snooping government organizations.

It uses the AES-256-CBC cipher encryption, which the government uses and is the gold standard in the industry. The VPN provider also features three tunneling protocols: OpenVPN, NordLynx, and IKEv2/IPsec to best suit user preference and device compatibility.

In addition, NordVPN has undergone several third-party audits to confirm its no-logs claims. So from a technical and legal point of view, NordVPN is as safe and legal as they come.

Supported Platforms & Devices

NordVPN covers pretty much any popular and less popular platform out there. You can always count on using a native application offered by this VPN. Our Score: 10/10

When you decide to use a VPN, you'll want one that protects all your devices. That's because using a single unprotected device poses a risk of leaking your personal data. So, here’s a table showing NordVPN on multiple devices, detailing which ones are natively supported by the VPN:

It’s clear that NordVPN brings wide compatibility with many platforms and devices. What’s also important to note is that you can use NordVPN on devices not mentioned in the table above – as long as those devices support the OpenVPN protocol.

In those cases, you would need to set up NordVPN manually. In general, that's not an overly complicated procedure. You can always rely on NordVPN's customer support for any assistance.

Of course, you can always go for capable and compatible routers. Aside from DD-WRT and Tomato, this VPN can be installed on any router that supports OpenVPN. This is how you can protect all your devices at once without having native clients installed.

On top of that, installing NordVPN on your router takes a single "slot" of your subscription, no matter how many devices you connect to your router. However, the NordVPN device limit for simultaneous connections is only 6 per account.

Installation & Initial Configuration

Downloading, installing, and configuring NordVPN doesn’t require you to have any technical knowledge. The entire process is very user-centric and intuitive. Our Score: 10/10

In this section of our NordVPN review, we'll provide you with a brief explanation of how the VPN provider works, as well as how to get started using it. So, keep reading!

How Does NordVPN Work?

Like every other VPN provider, NordVPN establishes an encrypted tunnel over the Internet for your data. This way, it changes your IP address and keeps your data safe between you and your destination. As such, no private external party or government can track your online activities.

With NordVPN's ability to mask your current location and online activities, you can access geo-restricted content and stream your favorite shows from anywhere in the world.

As a consumer-focused VPN provider, it offers highly intuitive apps across all devices, ensuring an easy and stress-free user experience. With just a few clicks, the service takes care of all the technical hassle of providing solid security and privacy, excellent speed and performance, and easy access to geo-restricted content.

How to Download and Use NordVPN?

How to download NordVPN native apps

Downloading and installing the NordVPN app is a straightforward process. There are two ways to get the app: via the official website or the app store.

To have the smoothest experience, we advise you to download NordVPN directly from their official website. Aside from that, some countries restrict downloading the app from app stores, so your best bet is the official website.

Here's a simple step-by-step approach to setting up NordVPN:

  1. Subscribe to NordVPN using your favorite Web browser.
  2. Then, return to NordVPN's website and click "Log In."
  3. Access your Nord Account by supplying your credentials.
  4. Select "Downloads" on the left.
  5. Download the installation file and install the app.
  6. Launch NordVPN and provide your login details (you'll do that via your browser).
  7. Go into NordVPN's settings (bottom-left corner).
  8. Activate the "Kill Switch" and "Threat Protection" features.
  9. Return to NordVPN's home screen and pick any server. That's it!

In the guide above, we advised you to enable NordVPN's kill switch, which allows you to add a list of apps that will be forced to quit if your VPN connection drops. That way, those apps won't leak your sensitive information, as their access to the Web will be disabled.

Also, NordVPN's "Threat Protection" is a very handy feature that comes included with your subscription. You can use it to block malicious sites, stop Web tracking, block ads, and more.

To use NordVPN across a range of supported devices, check our central guide on how to set up NordVPN.

Prominent Features

NordVPN is among the most feature-rich VPNs. It covers the basics quite well and also offers a range of advanced and unique features to protect you on the Web. Our Score: 10/10

In this segment, we look at a set of standard and advanced features that VPNs typically offer. Speaking of NordVPN’s features, you’ll find plenty of options here.

Here's an overview of what to expect.

Enabling NordVPN Vulnerability Detection tool
How to enable NordVPN Kill Switch feature
How to enable NordVPN Split Tunneling feature
Steps to enable the Meshnet feature of NordVPN

Server Count & Infrastructure

NordVPN comes with a trove of servers spread across the entire planet - and it often expands that network in a rapid manner. Our Score: 9/10

NordVPN is one of the VPNs with the most substantial number of servers. To discover more information, check out the table found below.

Number of Servers 6,000+
Number of Locations N/A
Number of Countries 61
Specific Cities Selection YES
Unlimited Switching YES

As you can tell, the number of NordVPN servers is astounding (with servers in India, the UK, the US, Australia, and Canada). Due to its 6,000+ server network, NordVPN is among the VPNs with the most servers. However, we don’t have precise information on where those servers are located, nor can we pick a specific city to connect to. The only option where that is present is among NordVPN servers from the USA.

Having this many servers is a good thing. In theory, this means you’ll hardly connect to an overcrowded server that throttles the speed of your Web connection. However, this doesn’t mean that VPNs with 500 or 1,000 servers won’t perform as fluidly as NordVPN.

What we’re saying is – even though having plenty of servers is a nice thing, this shouldn't be the most important aspect of choosing a VPN.

Also, 110+ active NordVPN obfuscated servers are available in the following locations:

To use them, just select "Obfuscated servers" from the Specialty Servers list and connect to the fastest server or any of the countries you prefer.

Does NordVPN Use Virtual Server Locations?

Inquiry About NordVPN Virtual Servers

No, NordVPN doesn't use virtual servers. In other words, this VPN's entire server network is based on physical servers spread across the entire world.

In general, having virtual VPN locations at your disposal isn't a major downside. This especially goes for VPNs that are transparent about their server networks. Still, NordVPN is one step ahead by ensuring that its servers are actually found in the "end" locations.

Also, we've mentioned NordVPN's colocated server network at the beginning of this review. Soon enough, this VPN will own its entire server network as opposed to renting individual servers. This is a major benefit (especially when compared to its competitors) as it gives NordVPN a better chance of creating an incredibly safe and privacy-respecting environment.

UI/UX Design & Ease of Use

Updated NordVPN home screen on Windows

NordVPN is very easy to use. It comes with a user-centric and modern-looking UI across all its apps, suitable even for complete beginners. Our Score: 10/10

In this segment of our NordVPN review, we'll take a look at the VPN's apps for desktop and mobile platforms. And since Web browser extensions are on offer as well, we'll explain what you can expect from NordVPN in that aspect as well.

How Well Does NordVPN Work on Desktop Platforms?

NordVPN on desktop works excellently. As you can see from the images in this segment, NordVPN is actually a very simple application.

The home screen button on the left sidebar, also called "dashboard" in the Windows app, consists of an overview of your VPN connection, recent connections, and online traffic (with or without VPN use). In the same menu, there's a convenient shortcut to customizing the "Threat Protection" feature and securing access to your devices through MeshNet.

Below the home screen, you'll find the VPN button with a Web icon. The menu comes with a large interactive map background, which you can use to quickly connect to any NordVPN server.

For a comprehensive view of NordVPN's server locations, navigate to the left-hand side of the UI and scroll down. Here, you'll find the complete list, encompassing specialty servers like Dedicated IP, Double VPN, Obfuscated, Onion Over VPN, and P2P.

NordVPN Server Menu on Windows

However, take note that the full array of specialized servers only appears when using the automatic VPN and OpenVPN protocols.

Before you click on any country's name from the left-placed list, you can take your time to pick a server manually. Hover over any country's name, and you'll see a 'three dots' icon on the right. Click on that icon, and a menu will appear. Then, pick a city server from this menu and connect to it.

Connecting to NordVPN servers at a city level
Connecting to NordVPN servers on Windows.

To dive deeper into what NordVPN offers, you can check its settings. To access that side of the VPN, click on the 'Settings' icon, visible in the bottom-left corner. We've tested NordVPN on a macOS computer, so here's what the VPN allowed us to customize:

How to setup NordVPN Presets on Mac
Enabling NordVPN Dark Web Monitor on Mac
NordVPN Appearance settings on Mac

How Well Does NordVPN Work on Mobile Platforms?

NordVPN works so well on mobile platforms. It has done a wonderful job of creating a uniform user experience. That means you can count on the same set of UI design principles across all its apps. This is something we don't often see these days, and it puts NordVPN ahead of its competition.

Using NordVPN on phone is a joy, and we can't emphasize it enough. On iOS, the app's home screen shows a list of servers, along with an interactive map. Tap on any country using this map, or select a server manually - and you'll be connected in an instant.

NordVPN app on an iOS device
NordVPN's interface on iPhone.

At the bottom of the screen, you can check detailed information about the currently active VPN session, access NordVPN's Meshnet, and you'll find a button that takes you to the app's settings (where you can change the VPN protocol and more).

When it comes to Android, you'll see a home screen that's practically similar to iOS. This includes an interactive map, along with a list of all NordVPN's servers below (including specialty servers as well). Like iOS, you can access NordVPN's settings via "Profile" in the bottom-right corner.

NordVPN interface on an Android device
NordVPN's interface on Android.

Speaking of NordVPN's settings on iOS and Android, know that there's plenty to fine-tune. So, here's an overview of what to expect.

All in all, NordVPN's Android and iOS apps are hugely polished and incredibly capable. We highly recommend using them.

How Well Do NordVPN's Web Browser Extensions Work?

The NordVPN extension for Web browsers works great. The VPN provides a Chrome extension, as well as extensions for Firefox and Edge (including other Web browsers built on Google's Chromium and Mozilla's Gecko). NordVPN doesn't have a Safari extension, but connecting to NordVPN servers using the macOS app seamlessly works with Safari, too.

We're also happy to report that Nord's Web browser extensions have been recently overhauled, so here's what to expect.

Once you log in to your account, NordVPN's extension will show an interface letting you connect to a server automatically or manually. If you click on 'Quick Connect,' the browser extension will pick the closest server based on your physical location, which should provide you with the fastest possible speed.

NordVPN browser extension on Chrome
NordVPN's Chrome browser extension.

To dive deeper, click on the "Settings" icon in the bottom-right corner. You'll get to block WebRTC leaks, enable NordVPN's ad-blocking feature, and manage your list of websites that can bypass Nord's proxy (split tunneling).

NordVPN Chrome extension settings

Keep in mind that NordVPN's Web browser extensions don't provide the same security level as the VPN's native apps. Using the app, you get a range of ultra-secure protocols and high-end encryption. And using the extension, your HTTPS traffic will be encrypted via the "Transport Layer Security" (TLS 1.2) protocol, which means we're talking about a proxy (not a VPN) here.

Still, it's good to know that NordVPN's browser extension looks and works great - especially if you need fast performance, better overall protection for your data, or to eliminate ads.

Media Streaming, Torrenting, and Gaming Support 

NordVPN unblocks dozens of streaming services and comes with streaming-friendly speeds. Also, it can be used to download torrents and play online games. Our Score: 10/10

One of the main reasons people use VPNs is to access content online, whether it’s streaming, downloading torrents, or playing games. However, not all VPNs can deliver a smooth and satisfying experience for these activities. Let’s see how NordVPN performs in terms of streaming, torrenting, and gaming. 

Is NordVPN Good for Streaming?

Yes, NordVPN is an excellent VPN provider for streaming, as it offers fast speeds, a wide array of server locations, and SmartPlay technology that allows you to access geo-locked content easily.

Here are some of the most notable US-based streaming platforms this VPN unblocks.

Netflix Disney+ HBO Max
Hulu Apple TV+ Crunchyroll
Sling TV ESPN+ Fubo TV

NordVPN dominates other VPNs for international and non-US streaming platforms, too. Here’s what you can expect.

BBC iPlayer (UK) ITVX (UK) CBC (Canada)
RaiPlay (Italy) 9NOW Live (Australia) RTE (Spain)
Zattoo (Germany) GloboPlay (Brazil) DSTV (S. Africa)

NordVPN is the best streaming VPN that has improved in the past few months. Before, you had to manually connect to different servers to find one that worked with Netflix and other platforms. Now, you can simply choose a server in the country of your desired streaming service and enjoy unblocked content.

This makes NordVPN a reliable choice for media streaming, as it can access almost any platform you want. However, it’d be nice if NordVPN offered dedicated streaming servers in the future, so you could easily see which services are available without trial and error.

Moreover, NordVPN uses SmartPlay technology to enhance your streaming experience. This technology combines the security of a VPN and the flexibility of SmartDNS to provide smooth and fast streaming.

Is NordVPN Good for Torrenting?

Yes, NordVPN is a great choice for torrenting, thanks to its dedicated P2P servers. You can find them under 'Specialty Servers,' and they’re available in almost every country on the list.

If you connect to a non-P2P server, the app automatically redirects your traffic to a dedicated server in Canada or the Netherlands. This way, your IP address stays hidden, and your privacy is protected. Let’s not forget that the service follows a strict no-logs policy, which means it doesn't spy on your torrents. That's why NordVPN remains the safest VPN for torrenting.

Apart from that, NordVPN offers a range of advanced security features, such as a VPN kill switch that prevents your IP address from being exposed. You can also choose from different VPN protocols to optimize your connection’s speed and stability.

The other thing that’s truly helpful is NordVPN’s SOCKS5 proxy, which you can use with torrent clients like BitTorrent. However, we don't recommend using this feature, as it’s less secure than a VPN. A SOCKS5 proxy only changes your IP address, but it doesn't encrypt your traffic.

Is NordVPN Good for Gaming?

Yes, we believe that NordVPN is a great choice for gaming online. It has a large network of servers around the world and supports almost any device or platform. Also, it lets you customize your connection for gaming with different protocols and options.

In fact, NordVPN has many features for gamers. For example, it can block ads, malware, and other online threats that can affect your gaming performance and security. We know DDoS attacks can ruin gameplay, and in our experience, NordVPN is brilliant at saving you from them through its kill switch feature.

Apart from that, it can also help you access games that are restricted in your region through its SmartPlay feature and can automatically connect you to the best server for gaming.

Security & Privacy

Despite some 'risky' situations from its past, NordVPN is still a highly trustworthy VPN that respects and protects your personal data. Our Score: 9.5/10

Now, let’s talk about privacy and security – perhaps the most important aspects when choosing a VPN. We’re going to take a look at NordVPN’s encryption and logging policies, and we’ll test its claims as well.

NordVPN Protocols - Listed & Explained!

The table found below shows which VPN protocols are found in each NordVPN app. So, we strongly recommend taking a look below before we discuss what each of those protocols brings.

Windows macOS Linux Android iOS
OpenVPN YES YES YES YES YES
IKEv2 NO YES NO NO YES
NordLynx YES YES YES YES YES

It's worth highlighting that, in some cases, you can add new VPN protocols manually. For example, this is possible with the IKEv2 protocol on Windows and Linux. By installing this protocol manually, you can take advantage of it even if it's not offered natively.

Still, there's a reason why NordVPN offers a select range of protocols in each of its apps. Even though you can overcome that "limitation," you should do that only if you really know what you're doing. Otherwise, rely on NordVPN's built-in protocols.

Does NordVPN Keep Logs?

NordVPN Privacy Policy

NordVPN has a strict no-logs policy. This VPN doesn't keep any information related to your private data, online activity, or your Internet browsing history.

In other words, none of your personal information is stored on any of NordVPN’s thousands of servers. And to prove this no logging policy, NordVPN went through many independent audits.

However, it's worth noting that NordVPN does collect some data. We're talking here about diagnostic logs, anonymized telemetry data, your device's information, and device identifiers.

Even though all of those technical terms sound intimidating, there's nothing to be worried about. NordVPN collects anonymized data only, which helps the VPN service run better and resolve technical problems. Rest assured, you're safe under NordVPN's log policy.

Does NordVPN Leak/Expose Your Personal Data?

No, NordVPN doesn't leak or expose your personal data. To check for any DNS leak, we've made several VPN connections using NordVPN and tested those VPN tunnels.

Testing NordVPN for DNS leaks

As you can see from the image in this segment, our 'true' IP address remained hidden and was replaced by NordVPN's 'virtual' information.

Keep in mind that we've done extensive DNS leak tests covering IP, DNS, WebRTC, and geo-location data leaks. All of our data never left NordVPN's tunnel, and no leaks were detected. Therefore, we conclude that this VPN will keep you safe and protected online.

Speed & Performance

NordVPN Speed Test NOV 23

NordVPN is among the fastest VPNs. Streaming in 4K or downloading large files should not be a problem, even if you don’t have an ultra-fast baseline connection. Our Score: 9/10

Let's see how NordVPN affects our speed. Without a VPN session active in the background, we got 581.09 Mbps for downloads and 57.99 Mbps for uploads. Those are our baseline stats.

Now, we'll try different servers around the world and compare the numbers. VPNs usually slow down your Web traffic by making it take longer routes, so we want to check how well NordVPN handles this by testing both nearby and remote servers.

Here's what we got during our tests of NordVPN’s performance:

We're sure you'll need some help making sense of the numbers found above. For that purpose, we've created the following table, so check it out.

  Download Speed Upload Speed Speed Reduction
Baseline Data 581.09 Mbps 57.99 Mbps 0%
US 506.36 Mbps 7.43 Mbps 13%
UK 522.99 Mbps 41.93 Mbps 10%
Canada 530.54 Mbps 7.59 Mbps 9%
Singapore 501.72 Mbps 4.78 Mbps 14%
Australia 364.81 Mbps 3.36 Mbps 37%
Italy 538.96 Mbps 49.39 Mbps 7%

Our tests show that NordVPN slowed down our Web connection by 15% on average. This puts it among the top VPN services in terms of speed. However, while your download speed will stay fast and steady, your upload speed might vary.

As you can see above, NordVPN's performance never dipped below 360 Mbps for us, which is more than enough to stream 4K videos on several devices simultaneously. So, if you have a speedy Web connection, NordVPN won't disappoint you.

Customer Support

NordVPN offers a complete range of customer support channels - so you can have all your questions answered promptly. Our Score: 10/10

If you take a look at older reviews of NordVPN still found online, you’ll see that many were complaining about this company’s lack of live chat and other types of customer support.

Well, that is no longer the case. NordVPN has upgraded its customer support system, and you can expect the following types of resources:

NordVPN Not Connecting/Won't Connect?

We always recommend going straight to NordVPN's customer support in case of any questions. However, we're also here to provide some actionable tips. So, here's what to do when NordVPN fails to connect:

Pricing

NordVPN is a high-priced VPN, but it gets much more affordable via its long-term plans. You'll also find highly attractive deals (with one being available right now). Our Score: 9/10

NordVPN has three subscription plans. If you want to save money, you might want to consider a longer-term plan. With that said, here's what you should know about its current price.

How Much Is NordVPN?

NordVPN's subscription plans start at $3.39/month with its Special New Year’s deal. The New Year discount is valid from January 9 to February 7, offering up to 67% off on 2-year plans.

NorVPN is tiered into 3 different options: Standard, Plus, and Complete. The pricing of each plan depends on the subscription duration you choose, and all plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee, which can be used as a NordVPN free trial.

Let's take a look at each plan:

Standard Plus Complete
Monthly Plan $12.99/mo $13.99/mo $14.99/mo
1-Year Plan $4.99/mo $5.99/mo $6.99/mo
2-Year Plan $3.39/mo $4.39/mo $5.39/mo

NordVPN's price varies depending on the plan and the subscription duration you choose. You can pay monthly or save up to 67% by opting for a 2-year NordVPN deal. In terms of mode of payment, NordVPN allows you to use credit/debit cards, crypto, Amazon Pay, Google Pay, PayPal, and more.

Is NordVPN Free?

No, NordVPN isn’t free because it’s a premium provider. It doesn't offer a free trial on its website, but you can try it for free for 7 days if you're using Android, with the trial following Google Play's terms.

You'll need to provide your credit card details and pay for your chosen subscription, but you’ll have 30 days to change your mind and get your money back - without any questions asked. This 30-day money-back guarantee covers all devices. Here's how to cancel your NordVPN subscription and get a refund.

Despite offering multiple paid plans, a NordVPN lifetime subscription doesn’t exist as it’s not sustainable for the brand. Offering it would mean selling the service for a low price and losing the regular income that’s needed to maintain the service.

NordVPN Comparison with Other VPN Providers

In general, when it comes to VPN providers, NordVPN stands out as a strong contender, boasting a range of impressive features. To provide you with a perspective, we'll compare NordVPN to other popular VPN options like ExpressVPN, Private Internet Access, Surfshark, and IPVanish.

Final Thoughts - Is NordVPN Good?

Yes, NordVPN isn't just good - it's an excellent VPN provider at its core. Its array of servers across 60 countries, decent speed and performance, industry-standard tunneling protocol, and AES-256 encryption rank it among the best in the market. It’s not hard to see why millions love this VPN provider!

The VPN provides easy Web browsing, smooth video streaming, and fast torrent downloads. Above all, it offers a solid no-logs and privacy policy, which has been audited many times in the past.

That said, whether you’re a regular or avid VPN user, NordVPN will meet your needs. Hence, we strongly recommend NordVPN.

PROS

  • Polished UI and UX design.
  • Army of servers.
  • High-end VPN protocols.
  • No personal data logging.
  • Supports media streaming platforms.
  • Suitable for torrenting.
  • Fastest VPN provider.
  • Affordable long-term plans.
  • Incredibly helpful customer support.
  • Customer-friendly money-back policy.

CONS

  • Split tunneling only available on Android and Windows.
  • Doesn't offer a dedicated router app.
  • High-priced monthly subscription.

FAQ

What Is NordVPN?

NordVPN is one of the best VPN providers in the market. It offers excellent privacy, security, and encryption features to users across the globe, allowing them to access various content worldwide without risking their anonymity.

Who Owns NordVPN?

NordVPN is the brainchild of Eimantas Sabaliauskas, Tom Okman, and Jonas Karklys. The VPN provider is registered under the parent company Nord Security (NordSec Ltd.), which is also in charge of brands like NordLocker, NordPass, Nord WL, and NordVPN Teams.

For more information, check out our article on who owns NordVPN.

How Does NordVPN Work?

NordVPN works by creating a secure tunnel between your device and its servers. It encrypts your Internet traffic, making it unreadable to hackers or ISPs. This safeguards your online activities and data.

Additionally, it assigns you a different IP address, enhancing anonymity and allowing access to geo-restricted content.

What Does NordVPN Do?

NordVPN helps you stay secure and anonymous online by encrypting your Internet connection. This protects sensitive data from potential threats and allows for safe browsing, streaming, and accessing geo-restricted content.

Is NordVPN Legit?

Yes, NordVPN is as legitimate as they come. A third party has independently evaluated its privacy policy and legitimate status and confirmed both to be solid.

How Many Servers Does NordVPN Have?

NordVPN boasts 6,000+ servers across 61 countries.

How Fast Is NordVPN?

As per our hands-on tests, NordVPN is among the fastest VPNs on the market. It's great for streaming, gaming, torrenting, as well as any other bandwidth-hungry task.

How to Cancel a NordVPN Subscription?

Canceling your NordVPN subscription is straightforward. You'll have to visit the official site, log in, and go to the billing section. Find the subscription tab and click on it. Next, you click on “Manage” and then  on “Cancel Auto-renewal.”

Here's more info on how to cancel your NordVPN subscription.

Does NordVPN Work in China?

Yes, NordVPN works in China. It's actually one of the best options in terms of VPNs capable of going around the Great Firewall of China.

How Many Devices Can You Use with NordVPN?

You can use NordVPN on up to 6 devices at the same time with one account. However, if you need more devices covered, you can set up your router with NordVPN, which will protect all your devices at once.

Does NordVPN Work with Netflix?

Yes, NordVPN works with Netflix. If you want to access Netflix libraries from different regions, get NordVPN. This will expand your content choices while maintaining online privacy and security.

Is NordVPN Worth It?

Yes, NordVPN is worth it. We highly recommend NordVPN as it offers robust security features, fast speeds, and reliable access to geo-blocked content.

Review Summary

This is certainly one of the most interesting VPNs available today. We're sure that many of you are going to be perfectly happy with NordVPN.

9.5
Overall Score
Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation
8.5
Supported Platforms & Devices
10
Installation & Initial Configuration
10
Prominent Features
10
Server Count & Infrastructure
9
UI/UX Design & Ease of Use
10
Media Streaming & Torrenting Support
10
Security & Privacy
9.5
Speed & Performance
9
Customer Support
10
Pricing
9


For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari