Tech

Users Who Own Files Violating Google Drive Policy Will Now Be Notified

By TechNadu Staff / December 15, 2021

You will soon get an email notification if your Google Drive document is restricted because of spam suspicion. However, some may be wrongfully flagged, so this new update tackles this problem as well. It will be gradually rolled out to all Google Workspace, G Suite Basic, and G Suite Business customers starting December 14.

A flag will appear next to the file name and you will not be able to share it. Access to the marked file will be blocked even for those who already have the link. This new measure comes after spam in Google Drive has become increasingly problematic in recent years, with Google even introducing a way to let customers block and report spammers.

source: Google

People who own files that seem to violate the Google Drive policy will be sent an email announcing action was taken, along with instructions on how to request a review of the restriction if users think there was a mistake. You can request a review by opening the file, clicking the Share button, and selecting Request a review.

Google said on Tuesday that the new status notification system would ensure owners of Google Drive items are fully informed regarding the status of their content to protect users from abusive content.



For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: