Proton VPN Review 2022

Proton VPN's website is filled with enticing promises, with marketing messages promoting this VPN's high-end security. Still, even though Proton VPN is one of the most trustworthy brands of its kind out there, we're sure you know better than to trust any company's claims. Therefore, we wish you a warm welcome to our hands-on Proton VPN review, where we'll show you the results of our numerous hands-on tests of this VPN service.

We’ll start this review by first introducing you to this VPN. We’ve prepared 3 tables with overviews of Proton VPN’s most prominent features, so let's jump right in.

Quick Facts
Jurisdiction Switzerland
Logs No personal data collected
Number of Servers 60+ countries / 1,750+ servers
Parallel Connections 10
Encryption Standards Up to AES-256 / WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2
Speed Reduction 16.6% (on average)
P2P Support YES (via specialized servers)
Live Chat Support NO
Supported Platforms Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, Chrome OS, routers
Price Starting at $4.99/month

We have also tested Proton VPN's media streaming capabilities. With that said, here's a handy table showing which streaming platforms work with this VPN service.

Media Streaming Support
American Netflix YES
Hulu YES
HBO Max YES
Disney Plus YES
BBC iPlayer YES
Amazon Prime Video YES
Kodi YES

We have one more table, created for those who are in a rush. Check out some of the most prominent pros and cons of Proton VPN, along with our final verdict.

The Bottom Line
Pros Easy to install; User-centric interface; Ultra-strong encryption; High-end protocols; Supports P2P; Great for streaming; Plenty of advanced features.
Cons Live-chat support isn't available; Not the biggest server fleet overall; Not all features are available on all devices.
The Final Verdict Despite a few drawbacks, Proton VPN is a highly capable VPN that has the means to keep you safe and protected online. However, it's not for everyone.
Our Score 8.9/10

That would be all for our introductory segment. We’ll now continue with our full and hands-on review of Proton VPN, so make sure to join us.

Note

We have been following Proton VPN's development for many years now. With that said, if you want to learn what's new in Proton VPN, make sure to use the provided link. You'll be taken to our often-updated guide to the VPN's latest updates, new features, and other developments.

Proton VPN Review

Just like we do in our every VPN review, we'll take a very deep look at Proton VPN's features and capabilities, testing the VPN from the inside out. With that said, you might want to check our article that explains TechNadu's process of reviewing VPNs.

Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation

Position and Map of Switzerland in Europe

Proton VPN seems to be a reliable and trustworthy VPN service. Being based in Switzerland, it has proactive security measures regarding your privacy protection. Our Score: 10/10 

Knowing where your chosen VPN comes from is more important than you might think. That's because VPNs handle personal data. So, you need to make sure that no one collects it. With that said, here's what you need to know about Proton VPN and its country of origin.

Where Does Proton VPN Come From? Is It Part of the 5/9/14-Eyes Alliance? 

As proudly stated on its site, Proton VPN comes from Switzerland. That country is known for its neutral diplomatic stance and its efforts to protect its citizens' privacy. In fact, the right to (digital) privacy is a part of the Swiss Federal Constitution, as highlighted just below.

  • Any individual has the right to have his/her data corrected or deleted. If you ask any data processing company to delete your personal data (in writing), that company must respond within 30 days. Of course, Proton VPN is considered a data processing company.
  • Your IP address is considered to be your personal information. As ruled by the Federal Supreme Court of Switzerland, your IP can’t be used for tracing your online whereabouts.
  • There’s also the Swiss Federal Data Protection Act (DPA). This is a comprehensive set of laws dictating how personal data is processed by individuals, companies, organizations, and federal authorities. Companies based in Switzerland are forbidden from sharing your private data with third parties without your explicit consent.

We should also highlight the fact that Switzerland isn’t a member of the European Union. Also, this country isn’t a member of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance, which certainly sounds reassuring.

Keep in mind that Proton VPN is a product of Proton Technologies AG. They also own ProtonMail, a highly popular encrypted email service, alongside other services that allow their users to store and share files securely. Therefore, Proton Technologies certainly has the required knowledge when it comes to handling confidential data.

Did Proton VPN Leak Private Data in the Past? 

Back in September 2018, a privilege escalation bug was discovered in Proton VPN’s code. Still, the VPN acted before the bug was revealed publicly and patched this vulnerability.

In other words, no users were affected, and this vulnerability didn’t lead to any malicious code being sent through its secure network. Other than this report, we couldn't find anything that could be troubling regarding Proton VPN’s practices.

We'll also add that Proton VPN goes through regular independent audits. The most recent one was done in April 2022 by Securitum, a highly respectable European security auditing company. As per the results of that audit, Proton VPN comes without any problematic vulnerabilities.

When it comes to Proton VPN's sibling services, a troubling event happened in September 2021. An arrest of a climate activist in France happened after Proton Mail was forced to provide the IP address of the individual in question.

As explained by ProtonMail's CEO (Andy Yen), Proton Technologies AG is forced to comply with Swiss laws when a crime happens, which is when privacy protections are suspended.

That doesn't come as a surprise, as criminal activities are against any VPN's policies and terms of use. Still, Proton Mail did prove that it uses end-to-end encryption as it wasn't able to provide any information about the accused individual's email messages.

Of course, the above said applies to Proton Mail, not Proton VPN. Still, that situation acts as a reminder that when a crime happens, even the most secure VPN won't be able to give you total online anonymity.

Lastly, we'll also note that Proton Technologies AG recently won a case against the Swiss Post and Telecommunications Surveillance Service (PTSS), allowing the company to avoid logging its users' personal data. That's another example of Proton's dedication to protecting its users.

Supported Platforms & Devices

Proton VPN Supported Devices

Proton VPN can be used on many popular platforms, with routers included. However, it doesn't offer Web browser extensions. Our Score: 8/10

In this segment of our hands-on Proton VPN review, we'll check this VPN's supported platforms. So, take a look at the following table and then keep on reading.

Platform Compatibility
Desktop Platforms Windows, macOS, Linux, Chrome OS.
Mobile Platforms Android, iOS.
Web Browsers N/A.
Routers DD-WRT, Tomato, AsusWRT, and more.
Other Devices Android TV, Fire TV.

In terms of desktop platforms, there are native apps for Windows and Mac. Proton VPN also has a Linux app, developed in cooperation with its vibrant GitHub community. 

When it comes to mobile platforms, Android and iOS are supported. This was previously a major drawback as Proton VPN wasn’t available on Apple’s mobile operating system. However, that changed in November 2018, when Proton VPN finally reached the iOS App Store.

Additionally, Proton VPN can be installed on a range of routers (if you have a compatible router, that is). Since it uses the OpenVPN protocol, there’s a nice array of compatible routers based on DD-WRT, Tomato, and AsusWRT firmware versions (and other types of routers as well).

We also need to note what's missing here. As you can see from the table above, Proton VPN doesn't offer Web browser extensions (which should change in the second half of 2022).

Still, since it offers a range of native apps for pretty much any platform available, the lack of Web browser extensions isn't a big drawback.

Installation & Initial Configuration

Proton VPN Downloads Dashboard on Its Website

You shouldn’t have a problem installing Proton VPN, even if you’re a complete beginner. The entire process can be done within minutes of your time. Our Score: 10/10

Before getting to use this VPN service, you first need to subscribe to Proton VPN. Once you sign-up via the official website of this VPN, you can proceed to download its apps. You can do that by logging into your account (on the website) or even without logging in.

Once you log in to your account on Proton VPN's site, click on the left-placed menu item called 'Downloads.' You can see the available platforms there, as well as OpenVPN configuration files if you want to avoid installing Proton VPN's applications.

When it comes to the actual process of installation, it should go pretty smoothly. If you've ever installed any software before, you'll know what needs to be done. You won't find any bundled software here or any other annoyances.

Installing Proton VPN on macOS

Once installed, you will see Proton VPN’s log-in screen. Make sure to enter your username and password, and you’ll finally get to access all of this VPN’s capabilities. We’ll explain its UI and what you can expect later on in this Proton VPN review.

When it comes to platforms such as Android (TV), iOS, iPadOS, or Fire TV OS, the process of installing Proton VPN is even simpler. You'll have to visit your device's app store, from where you can download and install the VPN. That's about it.

Lastly, we'll mention that Proton VPN gives you up to 10 simultaneous devices. That seems like plenty, letting you protect your device at home as well as on the go.

Prominent Features

List of Proton VPN Features

Proton VPN comes with plenty of unique features, adding a lot of value to its offer. However, some features are reserved for specific devices only, so make sure to know what you'll get (based on the platform(s) you use). Our Score: 8.5/10

VPNs may look the same on the outside. However, make sure to take a look 'behind the scenes' and inspect their features before buying a subscription. That'll show you how much value you’re getting for your money.

With that said, check the table below to see what you'll get from Proton VPN, as well as what this VPN doesn't offer (in comparison to most other VPN services).

VPN Features Checklist
DNS Leak Protection YES
IPv6 Leak Protection YES
Kill Switch YES (Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android)
Split Tunneling YES (Windows, Android)
Dedicated/Static IPs NO
Ad-Blocker, Anti-Malware YES
Unlimited Server Switches YES
Unlimited Bandwidth YES
Unlimited Data YES

In terms of protecting your online data and preventing leaks, Proton VPN is doing a great job. You get both IP (IPv4 and IPv6) and DNS leak protection, which, combined with other technologies, allows Proton VPN to create an incredibly powerful VPN tunnel. With that said, it's clear that Proton VPN is doing an excellent job when it comes to the basics.

DNS IP Leak Protection Options Proton VPN

It’s also interesting to note that this VPN comes with a whole series of advanced features. You get a built-in kill-switch (available on Windows, macOS, Linux, as well as on iOS/iPadOS and Android), whose role is to stop your Web traffic in case of an unexpected connection drop.

Then, there’s also split tunneling (on Windows and Android), allowing you to select which applications use VPN traffic and which ones don’t. That's how you can use the full speed of your Web connection for your non-sensitive activities while being protected when it matters.

Proton VPN has also developed technologies you won’t find elsewhere.

For example, 'Secure Core' is a system of servers in privacy-friendly countries, giving you another layer of security. In other words, this system routes your data through an additional server before leaving Proton VPN’s network.

Doing so protects your online data in the best possible way, leaving no trace of your online whereabouts. Still, since your data will go through 2 servers, its speed will drop as a result.

Then, we should also mention a couple of freshly-introduced features. There's something called 'NetShield,' which is a set of features designed to prevent all kinds of trackers.

NetShield Feature Proton VPN

'NetShield' also acts as a system-wide ad-blocker that goes well beyond Web browsers. Using this feature, you can pick from different levels of protection (from allowing all trackers to blocking malware, ads, and trackers).

Lastly, Proton VPN's VPN Accelerator uses an advanced set of technologies to improve Web connection speeds when using highly remote servers. Thanks to that, Proton VPN has recently become one of the fastest VPNs around, as you'll see for yourself if you keep reading.

Server Count & Infrastructure

Proton VPN Server Stats

Proton VPN comes with a relatively small number of servers. However, those are spread across 60+ countries, so Proton VPN's reach should meet your needs. Our Score: 7.5/10

Now, we’ll check how many servers Proton VPN offers, as well as in how many countries and locations - so you can compare it to its competitors. Check out the following table.

Server Count Info
Number of Servers 1,750+
Number of Locations 70+
Number of Countries 60+
Specific Cities Selection YES
Unlimited Switching YES

Proton VPN currently offers more than 1,750 servers in 60+ countries. That's not the biggest server network you'll find, as many VPNs offer more than 5,000 servers (while charging less than Proton VPN). Still, there's something very interesting about Proton VPN's network that you won't find elsewhere.

All of Proton VPN's servers are owned by Proton Technologies AG. They aren't rented from data centers, which means you get the best possible protection for your sensitive data.

Then, we'd also like to mention that Proton VPN offers specialized servers. For example, some of them are optimized for streaming, downloading torrent files, accessing the Tor network, and more. There are also 10 Gbps servers - if getting the fastest possible speed is what you want.

Keep in mind that some of Proton VPN's servers aren't located in their "end" countries. In other words, we're talking about virtual server locations, clearly indicated via the VPN's interface.

Proton VPN offers virtual servers for the following countries: Cambodia, Egypt, Nigeria, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam.

UI/UX Design & Ease of Use

Home Screen of Proton VPN on Mac

Proton VPN comes with a clean and modern UI design, and it’s one of the most polished VPN applications in terms of its appearance and ease of use. Our Score: 9.5/10

Unlike most VPNs, Proton VPN isn’t forcing a mobile-like UI. Instead, it's a fully-featured VPN application that you can freely resize and reposition as you want. Therefore, it certainly leaves a positive first impression.

The home screen of Proton VPN provides everything you need to get started, with the biggest portion taking an interactive map of the world. You can use the map to connect to different countries, but it doesn’t really give you an option to fine-tune your user experience (which is where the left-placed sidebar enters the game).

Searching for Individual VPN Server Location in Proton VPN

To select a server, take a look at the left side of the screen, where you'll see a sizeable list of servers with icons that indicate their intended use (streaming, torrenting, and more). You can click on any of these to connect automatically, or you can select an individual location.

Underneath the 'Countries' and 'Profiles' tabs (on the left-hand side), you will see 3 useful buttons. The first one on the left lets you connect to 'Secure Core' servers (routing your traffic through two servers at once).

Secure Core Servers in Proton VPN

Then, you can use Proton VPN's 'NetShield,' eliminating malware, ads, and trackers. And on the right, you can easily enable or disable Proton VPN's kill switch.

Kill Switch in Proton VPN Interface

Proton VPN also allows you to fine-tune your VPN connection by visiting the app's settings. This is where you'll encounter four tabs, so here's a quick overview:

  • General: To keep yourself protected at all times, you can set Proton VPN to launch on system startup. This tab also allows you to test new features early, and you can fine-tune the application’s behavior as well (enable/disable notifications, get messages about unprotected networks, and similar).
General Settings Proton VPN
  • Connection: Here, you can choose from different protocols, and you can decide whether Proton VPN can automatically connect to a server once you launch it. This goes hand-in-hand with the previous tab, allowing you to employ VPN protection at all times. Also, you can use this tab to control this VPN's 'Accelerator' feature (speeding up your Web connection), which comes enabled by default.
Connection Settings Window Proton VPN on Mac
  • Advanced: If you're in a country with heavy Internet censorship, you can enable Proton VPN's 'Alternative Routing,' designed to evade anti-VPN systems. Another option found here is called 'Moderate NAT,' which opens you up to correlation attacks but resolves connection problems while playing multiplayer games.
Advanced Settings Proton VPN Mac
  • Account: This is where you can check your account information, such as your username, account type, and account plan. To dive deeper into your subscription, you will see a link at the bottom of this window, taking you to Proton VPN's Web dashboard.
Account Settings Proton VPN on Mac

When it comes to Proton VPN's mobile apps, they come with a uniform design. That means that you can expect a highly polished interface, suitable even for complete beginners.

Everything you could possibly need is accessed using the app's bottom-placed menu, letting you connect to VPN servers, use an interactive map, set up profiles, and fine-tune your user experience.

ProtonVPN App Interface on iPhone

The only downside regarding Proton VPN's mobile apps is a certain level of discrepancy between Android and iOS. For example, the Android app doesn't have an easily accessible kill switch (it's there, but you need to access it via your phone's Settings app), and it offers split tunneling. And on iOS, you'll find Proton VPN's kill switch, but split tunneling isn't on offer.

All in all, Proton VPN is one of the rare VPNs with a highly polished UI design. It’s suitable both for beginners and advanced users, as it allows plenty of customization. Every option and feature is explained nicely, and there are helpful tooltips around the application's UI.

Media Streaming, Torrenting & Gaming Support

Unblocking Netflix Using Proton VPN

Proton VPN works with most streaming platforms, offers a range of specialized P2P servers, and also offers digital tools to enhance your online gameplay. Our Score: 9.5/10

One of the most popular uses of VPNs is their website-unblocking capability. That's especially useful when it comes to streaming, so let’s see which services work with Proton VPN.

Media Streaming and Torrenting Support
Netflix US YES
Hulu YES
HBO Max YES
Disney Plus YES
BBC iPlayer YES
Amazon Prime Video YES
Torrenting (P2P) YES

When it comes to accessing the US version of Netflix, you’re covered well. Plenty of servers offered by Proton VPN can make that happen. However, we recommend going for US-based servers optimized for streaming, which should bring you the best possible experience.

We also had plenty of luck with unblocking Disney Plus and Amazon Prime Video. The same applies to HBO Max, BBC iPlayer, and many other mainstream and niche streaming platforms.

It's worth mentioning that Proton VPN was never known as a VPN suitable for streaming. So, it's obvious that plenty of progress has been made in that aspect. Today, you can use it to unblock practically any streaming platform, and we hope that situation won't change in the future.

Watching BBC iPlayer Using Proton VPN

Also, let’s also not forget about torrenting. Proton VPN comes with a range of servers that support this kind of Web traffic. More importantly, this VPN has been expanding its network of P2P servers rapidly, so you should be able to find a nearby server relatively easily (which helps you achieve a fast Web connection speed, crucial when torrenting).

If you use Windows, Proton VPN also lets you set up port forwarding. That way, you can reach more users in each P2P swarm, helping you reach faster download and upload speeds.

Lastly, Proton VPN seems like a good pick for gaming as well. It doesn't have the biggest server network, but it does offer a highly optimized server fleet. There are multiple tools to use to hide your traffic, bypass anti-VPN systems, and similar. Also, Proton VPN's 'Accelerator' should handle your ping and latency, even while using highly remote servers.

Security & Privacy

Proton VPN Privacy Policy

It’s clear that Proton VPN safeguards your private data in the best way possible. It also doesn't log your personal information, as proven by a recent independent audit. Our Score: 10/10

Let's not forget that the primary use of any VPN is to protect your privacy. With that said, let's check Proton VPN's protocols and encryption, as well as whether it's capable of creating a secure VPN tunnel. Keep on reading to learn more.

Which Protocols Does Proton VPN Support?

This VPN comes with the strongest type of encryption commercially available. We’re talking about AES-256, with the key exchange method being 4,096-bit RSA, while SHA384 is used for message authorization.

You don’t have to worry about all those numbers and terms – all you need to know is that AES-256 should keep your data encrypted in the best way possible.

This VPN has decided to drop less secure protocols and focus on OpenVPN, WireGuard, and IKEv2/IPsec. All those are known as strong protocols with no known vulnerabilities. Depending on your platform of choice, you’ll either get to use OpenVPN, WireGuard, or IKEv2/IPsec (some of those or all of them) – and it really doesn’t matter which one you’ll end up with.

Does Proton VPN Log Private & Sensitive Data?

When signing up for a new account, Proton VPN collects information like your username, email address, and password – as that is needed for you to log in and use the service itself.

There are also 2 interesting points to keep in mind. As noted in Proton VPN's Privacy Policy, this VPN retains essential data (username, email, billing information), which is deleted from their servers once you decide to no longer use this service.

Then, once you start using its apps, certain anonymous and aggregate statistics can be logged. For example, that might include information about your operating system, the total number of installs and uninstalls, the total number of active users, and similar.

That's pretty standard practice for any VPN. More importantly, none of that data can ever be linked to your Proton VPN account. That means everything and anything you do online will be untraceable.

In terms of data sharing, Proton VPN works with its parent company (Proton Technologies AG - Switzerland) to share data and provide customer support. That's because Proton VPN and Proton Mail use the same user database, letting you manage your subscriptions more easily.

Let's also not forget to mention that all of Proton VPN's apps are open-source, which means that they're available for inspection by just about anyone out there.

Finally, Proton VPN's claims of not collecting any PII (personally identifiable information) are backed by numerous independent external audits.

Does Proton VPN Leak/Expose Private Data?

DNS Leak Test Proton VPN

We have also done a round of DNS and IP leak tests to ensure that there are no active data leaks. As you can see from the image above, Proton VPN employs effective leak protection measures.

Third parties on the Web can only see what Proton VPN is showing them, and that includes your virtual IP address, hostname, country of origin, and more.

Read: Is Proton VPN Safe? Yes, Here’s Why!

Speed & Performance

Watching Netflix Using Proton VPN

Proton VPN is among the fastest VPN services right now. It has done plenty recently to improve download speeds, which are now blazingly fast. Our Score: 9/10

Using this segment of our Proton VPN review, we will tell you what kind of performance you can expect from this VPN. In other words, what follows is our report of Proton VPN's performance after having used and tested both nearby and remote servers.

Before we connected to Proton VPN's servers, we checked the speed of our (barebones) Web connection to establish our baseline data. As you can see just below, we managed to get 583.96 Mbps for downloads and 57.97 Mbps for uploads.

Baseline Speed Before Testing Proton VPN
Our baseline speed prior to testing Proton VPN.

Then, we tested a nearby connection. Since we're located in Europe, we decided to connect to a Proton VPN server in Italy. After doing a speed test, we ended up with 547.72 Mbps for downloads and 26.04 Mbps for uploads.

As expected, our download speed suffered a barely noticeable setback (as it should happen when using nearby VPN servers). However, our upload speed was cut by 50+%.

Proton VPN Server Speed in Italy
Italy-based Proton VPN server.

We checked another nearby connection, this time to a server in the United Kingdom. As you can see just below, we got 509.86 Mbps for downloads and 14.02 Mbps for uploads.

Our download speed remained steady, but our upload speed suffered a setback. This tells us that (for some unknown reason) Proton VPN's servers are optimized to keep your download speed intact, but the same can't be said for upload speeds.

Proton VPN Server Speed in UK
UK-based Proton VPN server.

You'll also want to know how Proton VPN's remote connections work, especially since this VPN advertises its long-distance speeds. With that said, while testing a server in the USA, we managed to get 510.97 Mbps for downloads and 7.40 Mbps for uploads.

Proton VPN Server Speed in USA
US-based Proton VPN server.

A server in Canada brought fast download speeds as well. More precisely, we managed to get 526.14 Mbps for downloads and 6.96 Mbps for uploads.

Proton VPN Server Speed in Canada
Canada-based Proton VPN server.

Then, we connected to a VN server on the other side of the world. More precisely, we connected to a Proton VPN server in India, which gave us 398.56 Mbps for downloads and 4.59 Mbps for uploads.

Proton VPN Server Speed in India
India-based Proton VPN server.

And lastly, we also tested a server in Australia on the opposite side of the world in relation to our physical location. During this final round of speed testing, we managed to get 424.39 Mbps for downloads and only 3.36 Mbps for uploads.

Proton VPN Server Speed in Australia
Australia-based Proton VPN server.

So far, we have given you a bunch of server locations and numbers. We'll help you make sense of that data, so make sure to check the following table first.

  Download Speed Upload Speed Speed Reduction
Baseline Data 583.96 Mbps 57.97 Mbps 0%
Italy 547.72 Mbps 26.04 Mbps 6.2%
UK 509.86 Mbps 14.02 Mbps 12.6%
USA 510.97 Mbps 7.40 Mbps 12.4%
Canada 526.14 Mbps 6.96 Mbps 9.9%
India 398.56 Mbps 4.59 Mbps 31.7%
Australia 424.39 Mbps 3.36 Mbps 27.3%

Based on the information found in the table above, we conclude that Proton VPN made our Web connection slower by 16.6%, on average. With that said, it's obvious that Proton VPN is among the fastest VPN services you'll find available today.

It seems that's a consequence of the VPN's 'Accelerator' technology, which seems to be doing an excellent job. It really is true that Proton VPN's long-term connections remain incredibly fast, which is not something you'll usually encounter.

However, we'll also note that Proton VPN will reduce your upload speed quite drastically. So, if you tend to upload a lot of data, you might consider some other VPN service.

Customer Support

Troubleshooting Article on Proton VPN Website

Since live chat is missing, all you can do is open a support ticket – and hope that someone will contact you back within 24 hours. Our Score: 7/10

VPNs are incredibly complex applications that depend on a large network of servers. Therefore, you should not be surprised if something goes wrong from time to time.

That's why you should always go for a VPN service that offers reliable customer support, ready to resolve your issues in a timely manner. Here's what you can count on in terms of Proton VPN:

  • Installation Guides: Installing Proton VPN is simple. However, more advanced users will want to install this VPN on a router, which certainly requires some technical knowledge. Luckily, Proton VPN can help by offering nicely written step-by-step tutorials and guides.
  • Frequently Asked Questions: There’s a whole range of frequently asked questions on Proton VPN's site. Those are related to using the VPN, accessing different types of content, and troubleshooting technical problems. This can be helpful in some situations, even though this customer support section isn’t the most comprehensive.
  • Support Tickets: Finally, you can contact the company by filling out a form on its website. Explain your problem in detail and expect to receive a response within 24 hours.

Unfortunately, Proton VPN doesn’t offer live chat on its website, which is clearly a downside. That means you'll lose some time waiting on Proton VPN's response to your email. We have to say that we’ve expected something better from such a reputable VPN service.

Pricing

Proton VPN Pricing Plans

Proton VPN's prices have recently been lowered, increasing the VPN's overall value. It's now much more competitive, giving you plenty of subscription options. Our Score: 9/10

In this segment, we'll talk about Proton VPN's subscription plans, including their prices, which have been simplified lately. So, here's how much Proton VPN costs.

BASIC Plan
Total Price Per Month Savings
1 Month $9.99 $9.99 0%
12 Months $71.88 $5.99 40%
24 Months $119.76 $4.99 50%

Keep in mind that the prices you see above are for standalone Proton VPN plans. That's because this VPN went through some changes lately, revising its pricing structure along the way. It used to offer several different tiers, giving you access to different sets of features and different selections of VPN servers.

However, Proton VPN now has a very simple offer. No matter which of its plans you pick, you'll get everything this VPN offers. And with that said, even Proton VPN's monthly plan seems like a good pick, even though it's the least affordable way to subscribe.

If you want to save, we recommend considering Proton VPN's 2-year plan, which comes priced at $119.76 for your first billing period. In comparison to the VPN's monthly plan, you'll get to save 50%. On top of that, all Proton VPN plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you'll have plenty of time to decide whether to continue using this VPN in the long term.

Also, know that you can pay via PayPal and credit cards. This VPN used to offer anonymous payment methods in the past, but that option is now available only when upgrading your Proton VPN account.

In other words, if you wish to remain anonymous, you need to create a free Proton VPN account. Then, you can go with a Bitcoin payment once you upgrade to a premium subscription.

There's also an option to pay in cache or via a bank transfer. However, you'll need very precise guides on how that's done. So, we recommend contacting Proton VPN for further information.

Proton VPN - Comparing Free vs Paid Accounts

You should also know that Proton VPN offers a free-of-charge account. And if you check our article on the best free VPNs, you'll see Proton VPN's free tier at the top of that list.

However, as you can already imagine, having a free account gives you access to only a tiny portion of what this VPN offers.

Keep in mind that our Proton VPN review is based on the VPN's premium plan. So, it doesn't address the free version of Proton VPN, which comes with many limitations.

Speaking of those, here's a quick overview of what to expect.

Proton VPN FREE Proton VPN PLUS
VPN Connections 1 10
Servers/Countries 100+/3 1,7500+/60+
Performance/Speed Limited Unlimited
No-Logs Policy YES YES
P2P Support NO YES
Media Streaming NO YES
NetShield NO YES
SecureCore Servers NO YES
Tor Over VPN NO YES

If you're hesitant about getting a premium Proton VPN subscription, getting a free account looks like a viable option. However, keep in mind that Proton VPN's free plan isn't an indicator of what to expect if you decide to pay, as it comes with limited performance.

Read: How to Get Proton VPN Free Trial Account

Do We Recommend Proton VPN?

Home Page of Proton VPN

It’s easy to recommend Proton VPN to a broad group of users. It protects your private data in a reliable way, and it seems that it doesn’t log any of your data.

Besides having your privacy protected, this VPN lets you download torrents, stream media (in a limited way), and more. Therefore, there is plenty to like about Proton VPN.

  • PROS: Polished UI design; Easy to install; Strong encryption; Capable VPN protocols; Suitable for P2P Web traffic; Great for media streaming; No data logging.
  • CONS: Semi-helpful customer support; Not the biggest server network out there; Not all features are available on all devices.
  • OUR SCORE: 8.9 out of 10!

Are you intrigued by what Proton VPN offers? Well, we’re sure you are! So, if you need additional information or want to subscribe to Proton VPN straight away, make sure to use the provided link. We’re sure that many of you are going to be perfectly happy with your choice.

Review Summary

Proton VPN comes with plenty of strong selling points that can easily persuade any individual into becoming a subscriber. We strongly recommend it!

8.9
Overall Score
Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation
10
Supported Platforms & Devices
8
Installation & Initial Configuration
10
Prominent Features
8.5
Server Count
7.5
Ease of Use
9.5
Media Streaming, Torrenting & Gaming
9.5
Security & Privacy
10
Speed & Performance
9
Customer Support
7
Pricing
9

Add a Comment

Latest
How to Watch Welcome to Flatch Season 2 Online From Anywhere
Welcome to Flatch is landing a new season soon, and we are happy to tell you it's super easy to stream online,...
How to Watch CSI: Vegas Season 2 Online From Anywhere
There is great excitement among CSI fans worldwide as CSI: Vegas Season 2 is finally set to premiere soon. After the success...
How to Watch Hell’s Kitchen Season 21 Online From Anywhere
Are you ready to get back into Hell's Kitchen? Gordon Ramsay is returning for the 21st season on Fox, and we're eager...
Table of Contents
For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]