Social Media

Twitter Introduces Removing Followers Without Blocking Them

By Lore Apostol / October 13, 2021

Twitter is finally rolling out the feature it's been testing last month. Users are now able to remove one or more followers without blocking them at the same time. The social media platform announced this new feature on its Twitter account, along with the steps needed to do so.

A follower can be removed on your profile under "Followers" by using the three-dot icon and then selecting "Remove this follower." However, besides manually scroll through your Follower list to find the person you want to take off your list, now you can also go to a follower's profile, and follow the same last two steps described above.

Of course, removed users can still see what happened if they check their Following list, but they can still visit the profile that removed them and see its content.

https://twitter.com/TwitterSafety/status/1447630725746987013?

Twitter experimented with quite a few new things this year. In the same set of tested features last month, the platform included some new privacy features like hiding tweets, unmentioning yourself, or blocking someone from tagging you. However, we are yet to see these implemented. In July, they offered a limited number of iOS users a downvote option as a feedback experiment.



For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: