IPVanish Review 2022

On the outside, IPVanish looks like a perfect all-in-one solution to your every VPN-related need. It promises to make you disappear on the Web, bypass Internet censorship, and even unlock new types of digital content. However, we're sure you know better than to trust any marketing messages, no matter how good they might sound.

That is precisely why TechNadu's team spent quite some time testing IPVanish, from the inside out. On top of that, we've been following this VPN for a long time, so we can give you plenty of in-depth information. With that said, welcome to our hands-on IPVanish review!

We will introduce you to this VPN by listing some quick facts first. We do the same in every VPN review, so the following table comes in handy if you want to compare VPNs and their basic features.

Quick Facts
Jurisdiction The United States of America (5-Eyes Alliance)
Logs No logs (proved by independent audits)
Number of Servers 50+ countries / 2,000+ servers
Parallel Connections Unlimited
Encryption Standards AES 256-bit / WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2, L2TP/IPsec
Speed Reduction 17.8%, on average.
P2P Support YES
Live Chat Support YES
Supported Platforms Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, Fire OS, routers, and more
Price Starting at $3.33/month

Next, we like to test every VPN against its claims of unblocking media streaming websites. After all, many users rely on VPNs to unblock and stream Netflix and other services. So, here's what you can expect from IPVanish in that regard.

Media Streaming Support
American Netflix YES
Hulu YES/NO (works sometimes)
Disney+ YES
BBC iPlayer YES
Amazon Prime Video YES/NO (works sometimes)
Kodi YES/NO (unblocks some add-ons)

Lastly, we have summarized our findings and conclusions below. With that said, these are IPVanish's biggest strengths and weaknesses.

The Bottom Line
Pros Effortless installation; Available on many devices; Works with Netflix; Supports P2P; Strong encryption; Fast performance; Real-time connection analytics.
Cons Based in the US; Owned by a corporation; Problems in the past.
The Final Verdict IPVanish is doing its primary job well - and therefore, it's suitable for the average home user. However, those seeking total online anonymity should focus their search on a VPN without any previous privacy-related issues.
Our Score 8.2/10

We're now ready to dive into our full IPVanish review. As we'll be dissecting this VPN service into its smallest bits, we highly recommend you keep on reading and learn all there is to know about this VPN.

Note

Before you dive deeper into the capabilities of this VPN, you might want to check what's new in IPVanish. Use the provided link, and you'll be taken to our article focusing on the latest news, features, and recent developments regarding IPVanish.

IPVanish Review

Finally, it's time to take a deep dive into IPVanish's offer and inspect everything this VPN promises to bring. However, before proceeding, you can learn how we review VPN services.

Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation

USA Globe-Style Map

Even though IPVanish comes with a turbulent past, it's now quite transparent and willing to go through regular audits, proving its commitment to its no-logs policy. Our Score: 8/10

VPN services deal with a massive volume of sensitive information supplied by their customers. With that said, you want to ensure that your VPN doesn't exploit your trust in any way. So, let's see whether you can trust IPVanish with your sensitive data.

Where Does IPVanish Come From? Is It Part of the 5/9/14-Eyes Alliance?

IPVanish launched in 2012 as a VPN service of a company called Mudhook Media. This was a subsidiary of Highwinds Network Group, whose headquarters was in Florida (the USA).

Initially, this was a basic VPN designed for Windows PC users. However, it didn't take long for the company to grow its service to cover other devices and more advanced features. During that time, this VPN found itself at the center of a privacy-related scandal, which we'll discuss in the following segment of this review.

Things started to change in 2017 when Highwinds Network Group became a part of a company called StackPath. We can't say this VPN changed drastically except for one thing. The new management team, along with its CEO Lance Crosby, decided to turn IPVanish into a no-logs VPN, promising not to collect a single file pointing to your online whereabouts.

Today, IPVanish is owned by NetProtect, a brand owned by Ziff Davis (previously known as J2 Global). You probably haven't heard about this company until now, but it owns several major VPN brands. We're talking about VPNs such as StrongVPN, SaferVPN, Encrypt.me (which merged with Buffered VPN in the meantime), ibVPN, OverPlay VPN, and WLVPN (which acts as a white-label VPN service), among others.

Finally, it's important to highlight that IPVanish (still) comes from the USA. That country is one of the founding members of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance – created for the purpose of intelligence sharing. To mitigate that downside, IPVanish now goes through regular audits to provide its no-logs claims, as explained below.

Did IPVanish Leak Private Data in the Past?

In 2016, it was discovered that IPVanish used to log some personal data – even though this VPN claimed to have a strict no-logs policy since 2012. As can be seen from this affidavit, that case involved child abuse and pornography, as well as a suspect who was investigated by the US Department of Homeland Security.

As per the criminal affidavit, the US Homeland Security asked for personal data records from Highwinds Network Group, the parent company of IPVanish at the time. After some discussion, the VPN provider decided to hand over 2 types of information:

  • Source IP address of the suspected user;
  • Dates and times that clearly describe when the accused individual was actively using IPVanish.

As you can see, that information proved that IPVanish wasn't only willing to work with the authorities – it actually recorded plenty of personal data as well. Of course, we can't blame IPVanish for helping the authorities resolve such a severe crime. Still, we need to highlight that IPVanish did, in fact, log private data despite what its privacy policy said.

Of course, everything said above applies to when Highwinds Network Group was in charge of IPVanish. It changed two owners in the meantime and is now owned by Ziff Davis (J2 Global), which means its management and policies have evolved in the meantime.

Therefore, we should acknowledge these past incidents - but keep in mind that they no longer define IPVanish as a VPN service. Until proven otherwise, we don't have a reason to believe that IPVanish is (once again) logging private information.

The latest security audit was done in March 2022 by "Leviathan Security Group" to prove IPVanish's commitment to its Privacy Policy. As per the results of that audit (available to all IPVanish subscribers via their online dashboards), IPVanish doesn't log any personally identifiable information and is in full complicate with its publicly available Privacy Policy.

Regarding the legality of IPVanish, we don't have any reason not to recommend it. VPNs are legal, except in a few countries with totalitarian regimes. In fact, they protect your right to (digital) privacy, which makes them not only legal but also highly recommended to use.

In terms of the VPN's safety, there's no reason to believe that IPVanish could endanger your personal data or your safety. It's true that this VPN comes with a complex past, with situations that have questioned its data-logging policies. However, we've also seen many improvements over the last couple of years.

Supported Platforms & Devices

Download Page on IPVanish Website

IPVanish covers a wide range of platforms and devices, including media streaming devices and routers - but it doesn't offer extensions for Web browsers. Our Score: 8/10

One of the first things we look for in a VPN is platform compatibility. After all, a capable VPN should provide native software across the board. So, here's what IPVanish offers.

Platform Compatibility
Desktop Platforms Windows, macOS, Linux, and Chrome OS.
Mobile Platforms Android and iOS.
Web Browsers None.
Routers DD-WRT (v2 and v3), Tomato, ASUS-WRT, Merlin.
Other Devices Amazon Fire OS, Android TV.

We can see that IPVanish has done an excellent job covering a whole slate of devices and platforms. You can use it on your computer, smartphone, tablet, and even on media streaming devices. With that said, the only thing that's missing is support for Web browsers.

However, keep in mind that Web browser extensions don't typically act as fully-featured VPNs. Instead, they act as proxies, which means you won't use your VPN's full encryption. So, the decision of this VPN to avoid offering browser extensions is understandable.

Also, IPVanish now supports unmetered VPN connections, which is still a rare thing to find in the world of commercial VPN services. In other words, your subscription will let you install as many apps as you want while using as many VPN servers as you need (simultaneously).

Installation & Initial Configuration

IPVanish Installation on MacOS

The process of installing IPVanish is straightforward. You download the installer, run it, and you'll have your new VPN ready to be used within minutes. Our Score: 10/10

This process starts by subscribing to IPVanish. That's how you'll get your username/password, which you'll use to log in to the app. After that, you need to download IPVanish from its website based on the operating system you use.

If you use macOS, you simply need to drag and drop IPVanish's icon onto your Applications folder. And if you're on Windows, you'll see a typical software installer. Choose where you'd like to save the required files, and IPVanish will finish everything on its own. This really is the simplest method of installing software on any computer.

When it comes to mobile devices and media streaming platforms, IPVanish has listed its app across many digital stores. That means you can turn to Apple's, Google's, or Amazon's App Store to download IPVanish, which means no manual configuration is involved.

What's interesting is that IPVanish comes already configured based on your system's specs, so you're ready to start using the application as soon as you log into your account. Select a server, connect to it, and that's pretty much it. Still, as you'll find out soon enough, taking your time to dive deeper into this VPN's software will be worth your time.

Prominent Features

List of Advanced Security Features Offered by IPVanish

IPVanish covers the basic features well while also offering a few high-end ones. However, those features aren't available across all of the apps provided by this VPN. Our Score: 6.5/10

In this segment, we'll explain whether IPVanish meets the needs of both beginners and advanced users alike. So, here's what to expect in terms of its security-related featured.

VPN Features Checklist
DNS Leak Protection YES
IPv6 Leak Protection YES
Kill Switch YES (Windows, macOS, Android)
Split Tunneling YES (Android, Fire OS)
Dedicated/Static IPs NO
Ad-Blocker, Anti-Malware NO
Unlimited Server Switches YES
Unlimited Bandwidth YES
Unlimited Data YES

IPVanish seems to cover the basics well. You get IP and DNS leak protection, which means this VPN should hide your data without any leaks. Besides, some more advanced features are on offer, such as a kill switch and split tunneling (more on those below).

However, the problem with IPVanish is that certain features are available on select platforms only. This means you can't expect the same offer across all of the apps offered by this VPN service. To see what we mean, keep on reading our IPVanish review.

How Many Simultaneous Connections Do You Get With IPVanish?

IPVanish gives you an unlimited number of simultaneous connections. That means there's no limit regarding how many devices you can use within a single subscription.

Differently said, you are free to install and use IPVanish on all your devices, such as computers, smartphones, tablets, routers, media streaming devices, and more. The VPN won't impose limits on your bandwidth or anything similar. That's one of the reasons why IPVanish is among the featured VPNs in our guide to the best VPNs for multiple devices.

Keep in mind that IPVanish doesn't allow multiple-party use or non-individual use. So account sharing is against the VPN's Terms of Service.

Does IPVanish Have a Kill Switch?

Instructions on How to Enable Kill Switch in IPVanish

Yes, IPVanish comes with a kill switch - available on Windows, macOS, and Android. This feature works as expected, with IPVanish employing a system-level kill switch.

If something happens to your connection (if it becomes unstable or you disconnect from a secure server), IPVanish's kill switch will prevent your device from connecting to the Web (which should prevent your data from leaking online).

A number of VPNs offer granular controls over their kill switch features. For example, you can decide which apps are affected by this feature, giving you some flexibility. However, IPVanish's kill switch is a system-level one. You can only enable or disable it.

How to Enable IPVanish's Kill Switch on Windows
  1. On the left-hand side, select 'Settings.'
  2. Then, select the 'Connection' tab.
  3. Scroll down until you see a group of features titled 'Enhanced Security Features.'
  4. Check the box next to 'Kill Switch.'
How to Enable IPVanish's Kill Switch on macOS
  1. Go to IPVanish VPN > Preferences.
  2. Make sure you're on the 'General' tab.
  3. Pick 'OpenVPN' next to 'Active Protocol.'
  4. Then, select the 'OpenVPN' tab.
  5. Check the box labeled 'Kill Switch.' That's it!
How to Enable IPVanish's Kill Switch on Android
  1. Launch IPVanish and tap on the hamburger button (on the left side).
  2. Tap on 'Settings,' and then select the 'Connection' tab.
  3. Scroll down and select 'Android OS Kill Switch.'
  4. Tap on 'Take Me There' to open your phone's Settings app.
  5. Next, tap on the cogwheel icon next to IPVanish's icon.
  6. Enable these features: 'Always-On VPN' and 'Block Connections Without VPN.'

Does IPVanish Offer Split Tunneling?

Instructions on How to Set Up Split Tunneling on IPVanish for Android

Yes, IPVanish offers split tunneling - but only on Android and Fire OS devices.

This VPN gives you an option to choose specific apps that are routed through your regular Web connection. That means your other apps will continue to use IPVanish's VPN tunnel.

This is helpful if you want to exclude specific applications from the VPN's tunnel. Those apps will use the full bandwidth of your Web connection, as IPVanish won't throttle them.

How to Enable Split Tunneling via IPVanish (on Android)
  1. Tap on the hamburger icon and select 'Settings.'
  2. Select the 'Connection' tab and pick 'Split Tunneling' below.
  3. This is when you'll see two groups of apps: 'User Apps' and 'System Apps.'
  4. Go through these lists and select the applications that you'd like to exclude.
  5. Once done, return to the VPN's home screen.

Does IPVanish Offer a Static/Dedicated IP Address?

No, IPVanish doesn't offer static/dedicated IP addresses.

As IPVanish explains, it uses dynamic IPs to prevent individual users from being tied to any particular IP. Therefore, each time you connect to an IPVanish server, you get a different IP address. In other words, this system ensures there's no way for someone to track your online whereabouts by tracking your IP.

Even though IPVanish's statement looks great on paper, it misses mentioning that VPNs can offer dedicated IPs without compromising their users' privacy. For example, one of the latest (highly reputable) VPNs to have started offering this feature is CyberGhost VPN.

Does IPVanish Have an Ad-Blocker?

No, IPVanish doesn't have an ad-blocker. Therefore, you'll need to rely on a third-party solution if you wish to block digital ads.

You'll be happy to know that many other VPNs use special DNS servers to get rid of ads (with a lot of success, by the way). So, if IPVanish's inability to unblock ads is a deal-breaker for you, here are the best VPNs with ad-blockers built-in.

What Features Are Missing on Android & iOS (Compared to Desktop Apps)?

If we compare IPVanish's mobile and desktop apps, we'll see that not all its apps offer the same features. There are even certain discrepancies between IPVanish's Android and iOS apps, which you'll get to know about only after you subscribe to this VPN.

For example, IPVanish's Android app comes with split-tunneling and includes a kill switch. However, the same doesn't apply to the VPN's iOS app. Furthermore, split tunneling can't be found on IPVanish's desktop apps either.

IPVanish offers plenty of features but fails to adequately explain what to expect on each of its supported devices. This is why reviews like this one are essential to read before buying any VPN subscription.

Server Count & Infrastructure

List of IPVanish Server Locations

IPVanish brings over 2,000 VPN servers that seem strategically placed around the planet. However, you'll find those servers in 50+ countries only. Our Score: 6.5/10

Having plenty of servers means that a VPN can accommodate numerous users without technical difficulties. With that said, here's some basic server count info related to IPVanish.

Server Count Info
Number of Servers 2,000+
Number of Locations 75+
Number of Countries 50+
Specific Cities Selection YES
Unlimited Switching YES

Unlike most VPN services, this one gives you an excellent overview of its servers. You can select a country, a city, and even an individual server. That's how you can make a helpful list of fast-performing servers (your favorites) and easily connect to those.

When it comes to VPNs and their general usage, some countries are more popular than others. Therefore, it's not surprising that some countries have plenty of servers, like the USA, the UK, Canada, and Australia. That's the case with IPVanish as well.

The only thing missing here is an option to pick specialized servers, such as media streaming- and P2P-optimized ones. However, this may indicate that all of IPVanish's servers are optimized for these activities, which we'll test later in this review.

Does IPVanish Use Virtual Server Locations?

Asking IPVanish About Virtual Server Locations

No, IPVanish doesn't offer virtual VPN server locations. Its entire server network is based on physical servers, according to its customer support agents.

Interestingly enough, IPVanish doesn't provide a definitive answer regarding virtual servers via its website. Therefore, we had to contact the VPN via its customer support. After being pointed to a list of servers present on the VPN's website, we pushed further to find out whether any of those were virtual.

In the end, we've received assurances that IPVanish doesn't have a single virtual server in its offer. That means all its servers are physical, located in their "end" locations. So, If you connect to a server in Norway (for example), you can be sure that you're connecting to a server that's physically located in Norway.

UI/UX Design & Ease of Use

Scroll to the left
Scroll to the right

Even though it doesn't bring the most modern-looking UI, we're sure you won't have a hard time using IPVanish's software (in the long run). Our Score: 8/10

IPVanish offers applications for desktop and mobile operating systems, and we'll show you how they look and work. So, let's continue with our IPVanish review.

How Well Does IPVanish Work on Desktop Platforms?

When you launch IPVanish, you will see a series of 'sections' or tabs in the left-placed sidebar. Therefore, the best way to explain how IPVanish works is by taking a quick look at its sidebar, which you can learn more about below.

  • Quick Connect: This is IPVanish's home screen, using which you can connect to its VPN servers. The 'Quick Connect' tab gives you 3 options. In the bottom-right corner, you can select a country. Based on the chosen country, you can select a city and even an individual server. To allow IPVanish to find the best server based on your location, click on 'Connect' after selecting a country, and the app will do the rest of the job.
Real Time Stats Offered by IPVanish Upon Connecting to Server
  • Server List: This tab gives you more freedom when checking IPVanish's servers. You can browse its list of servers, where you can see their individual occupancy. You can then browse a map or filter the servers based on their country of origin and latency. At any moment, you can make a server your 'favorite' and connect to it at a later time.
Instructions on How to Filter IPVanish Servers
  • Account: You can imagine what this one does. Using this tab, you can check your account's basic information, including when it's due to expire, and you can log out as well.

As promised, we will also take a closer look at the application's settings – as this is where you can fine-tune your user experience. So, here's what you'll find there:

  • General: Using this tab, you can switch between different protocols (this is where you'll find the newly launched WireGuard protocol), enable IPVanish to launch on system startup, opt for beta updates, auto-connect to a server, and change between different themes.
Instructions on How to Switch Protocols in IPVanish
  • OpenVPN: If you decide to use the OpenVPN protocol, this is where you can enable the VPN's kill switch, scramble your Web traffic, enable IPv6 leak protection, and more.
  • Auto Connect: Using this tab, you can instruct IPVanish on how to behave in certain situations. It can connect on-demand and stay connected once you quit the app. Then, you can instruct the VPN to "trust" certain networks, automating your VPN protection.
Fine Tuning Auto Connection Options in IPVanish
  • Diagnostics: Lastly, this is where you'll find IPVanish's diagnostic data that might be of help to the company's support team. You'll also see an option there to archive your app's diagnostic information, letting you upload it to IPVanish's customer support agents (if required, of course).

All in all, IPVanish is a really simple application. We can't say it's the best-looking VPN, as you'll easily find more polished alternatives. However, it's worth noting that IPVanish is in the process of redesigning its interface, which should reach Windows and Android first. Of course, we'll make sure to update this review once IVanish's next design iteration becomes widely available.

How Well Does IPVanish Work on Mobile Platforms?

As noted earlier, IPVanish doesn't offer an identical app for all its supported platforms. However, it uses the same design language across its software, which is always a welcome thing to see. So, let's talk about IPVanish's Android and iOS apps.

IPVanish now brings an overhauled Android app that looks cleaner than before. On the home screen, you'll see your IP address and location. You can connect to the nearest server from there or tap on "Locations" to reveal all locations.

Explanation of IPVanish Interface on Android
IPVanish's interface on Android.

As soon as you connect to a server, your actual IP and your geo-location data are replaced by IPVanish's virtual information. You'll also see a real-time graph showing helpful information about your sessions, such as your VPN connection speed and bandwidth.

To dive deeper, tap on the "hamburger" tab at the bottom. That's where you can switch from different protocols (WireGuard, OpenVPN, and IKEv2 on Android), allow LAN access, set up split tunneling, enable the app's kill switch, and more.

IPVanish now also brings a dedicated "Help" tab. You can use it to chat with IPVanish's team, send an email, as well as review other customer support channels.

On iOS, IPVanish offers an interface similar to what you'll find on Android. This means the home screen is reserved for picking a server, checking your actual and virtual information, as well as checking your VPN connections' real-time data.

Explanation of IPVanish Interface on iOS
IPVanish's interface on iOS.

Diving into IPVanish's settings on iOS is done by tapping the "Settings" tab. However, you won't find too many options to fine-tune. For example, you can change a VPN protocol, set up IPVanish's on-demand connections, change a theme, and similar.

All in all, IPVanish brings fully functional apps on iOS and Android. However, there are significant differences between these, where the Android app takes the win. And also, these are not the most polished apps in terms of their UI/UX design, but they once again get the job done.

Media Streaming, Torrenting & Gaming Support

Unblocking Netflix Using IPVanish

IPVanish seems suitable for streaming as it unblocks Netflix, Disney Plus, iPlayer, and tons of other streaming services. It also supports P2P and can even be used for gaming - but you'll need to make some optimization and pick your servers wisely. Our Score: 8/10

We've tested IPVanish by trying to unblock a group of popular streaming platforms. So, to check the results of our tests, use the table found just below.

Media Streaming and Torrenting Support
Netflix US YES
Hulu YES/NO (works sometimes)
Disney+ YES
BBC iPlayer YES
Amazon Prime Video YES/NO (works sometimes)
Torrenting (P2P) Support YES

As per our hands-on tests, IPVanish seems good enough for media streaming. It works with Netflix US just fine, as well as with Disney+ and BBC iPlayer. We also managed to unblock Hulu and Amazon Prime Video. Those 2 streaming services worked most of the time - but don't be surprised if IPVanish struggles with them on occasion.

IPVanish Unblocks iPlayer

We'll also add that IPVanish works with a lot of other US-based streaming services, especially those available free of charge. We tested it with Pluto.TV, Crackle, Tubi TV, and Popcornflix, without any issues whatsoever.

Also, IPVanish supports P2P traffic. Still, you should keep in mind that this VPN comes from the USA, which means you need to avoid infringing any copyrights. With this said, our strong recommendation would be to stick to legal torrent websites only.

Does IPVanish Work With Netflix, Hulu, BBC iPlayer, Prime Video & Disney Plus?

IPVanish Unblocks Disney Plus

Yes, IPVanish works with Netflix and Disney Plus just fine. When it comes to Prime Video and Hulu, you might encounter roadblocks from time to time.

Based on our tests, we recommend going with the OpenVPN UDP protocol, as that one seems to unblock streaming sites without any issues. For some reason, WireGuard appears to struggle with streaming in the case of IPVanish, so you'll want to try alternative protocols.

Which IPVanish Server Works Best for Netflix?

We've had plenty of luck using a number of different IPVanish servers to access Netflix outside the USA. However, we got the best speeds by connecting to the VPN's Boston-based servers.

Therefore, no matter if you're in the USA or if you wish to unblock the US-based version of Netflix from abroad, we highly recommend using IPVanish's servers located in Boston. If those fail to meet your expectations, New York-based servers should also do the job (especially when it comes to Disney Plus).

Can You Use IPVanish with Kodi?

Using Kodi Alongside IPVanish

In general, yes - you can use IPVanish with Kodi. However, this depends on your primary goal of combining Kodi with a VPN service.

If you're after privacy, IPVanish will protect you. This VPN has the means to hide everything you do online, thanks to its capable VPN protocols and a leak-free environment. In that aspect, we recommend using this VPN.

Is IPVanish Good Enough for Torrenting (P2P)?

Downloading Torrents via IPVanish

Yes, IPVanish is a good option for torrenting - and there are multiple reasons for that.

First and foremost, downloading P2P files isn't against this VPN's terms of use. IPVanish allows torrenting, and this applies to all of its servers. Therefore, you won't find a group of specialized servers for this purpose, as you can use any server.

Then, keep in mind that IPVanish gives you a SOCKS5 proxy. This is something you can integrate with a large number of torrent clients. And also, this is how you can achieve fast download speeds while maintaining your anonymity.

Still, we'll remind you that IPVanish originates from the USA, a country known for its rigorous stance regarding copyright infringement. So far, there haven't been any reports of IPVanish working with anti-piracy agencies. Even though its no-logs policy sounds reassuring, we still recommend exercising caution when using this VPN for torrenting.

Is IPVanish Good Enough for Gaming?

Playing Online Game While Using IPVanish

Yes, IPVanish is a good VPN for gaming (even though it might not appear so at first glance).

IPVanish's apps (on all of the VPN's supported platforms) come with a handy trick. You get to discover what performance to expect before connecting to a server. For example, you'll see each server's current load and ping values.

Therefore, choosing a server with a low ping value will lead to a pleasurable gaming session. And also, you get a whole slate of VPN protocols, which means that you can fine-tune your VPN connection in an effort to achieve better Web connection speeds.

However, if you want to unblock Kodi add-ons and their video content, you'll find much better alternatives out there. IPVanish doesn't work with a lot of media streaming services. That also applies to geo-locked Kodi add-ons, the majority of which don't work with IPVanish.

Security & Privacy

Explanations of Protocols Used by IPVanish

IPVanish comes with a complex past that doesn't benefit its current image. However, this is now a no-logs VPN with many audits under its belt, powered by the strongest VPN protocols you'll find available right now. Our Score: 9/10

The best VPNs out there do not log your data. It means they provide no-logs policies, and they don't allow anyone to find your true location. So, let's see how IPVanish ranks in those areas.

IPVanish Protocols - Listed & Explained

In this segment, we'd like to introduce you to IPVanish's VPN protocols. With that said, you'll want to check the following table first, showing you the situation with each platform.

Windows macOS Linux Chrome OS Android iOS
WireGuard YES YES YES YES YES YES
OpenVPN YES YES YES YES YES NO
IKEv2 YES YES YES NO YES YES
IPSec NO YES YES NO YES YES

The table found above shows both built-in and custom protocols offered by IPVanish. And as you can see, you have plenty of options.

The most secure protocols are also built into the VPN. However, if you're not afraid to tinker, IPVanish can help you add additional protocols by tweaking your device's settings or using third-party software. Keep reading to learn more.

WireGuard

This is the newest VPN protocol that promises extra-fast performance and high-end security measures. In general, it's faster, stronger, and more lightweight than its competitors. However, it's still brand-new and under continued development.

OpenVPN

Cybersecurity experts often recommend using OpenVPN by default. This is the most robust VPN protocol currently available, offering fast performance and easy connectivity. And on top of that, it's present across many different devices and platforms.

IKEv2

IKEv2 is a more secure variant of the IPSec protocol, mainly used across mobile devices. It doesn't have the same security level as OpenVPN, but it's known for its fast performance.

IPSec

IPSec isn't a traditional VPN protocol, per se. Instead, it provides a framework for secure transport, which is why it's often combined with IKEv2. That's the case with IPVanish as well, which offers the IKEv2/IPSec protocol.

Does IPVanish Log Private Data?

IPVanish was embroiled in a privacy-related scandal a while back. However, that was before the current owner (NetProtect and Ziff Davis/J2 Global) acquired it. Today, IPVanish is a zero-logs VPN service, as described in its recently updated Privacy Policy.

Excerpt from IPVanish Privacy Policy

If you check the new Privacy Policy, you'll see that IPVanish has become a transparent VPN service. It promises not to collect any personal data - and that includes your VPN connection, traffic, or activity data. The only information that IPVanish collects is your email address and payment method to process transactions.

IPVanish is well aware that another privacy-related scandal would bring the company down to its knees. After all, not many individuals would subscribe to such a service, right? And ever since Ziff Davis took ownership of IPVanish, we didn't hear about a single incident.

Does IPVanish Leak/Expose Your Private Data?

To check for data leaks, we've connected to several IPVanish servers. Then, we ran data leak tests, checking whether our "real" IP address, DNS data, or geolocation data would find its way to the Web.

As you can see from the screenshots in this segment, IPVanish provided a leak-free tunnel. That means our "true" information remained hidden, as well as that no third parties could have reached our personal data - while connected to IPVanish's servers.

Testing IPVanish for DNS Leaks

In other words, IPVanish gave us a new IP address, pointing to a virtual location, protecting our identity. Therefore, we conclude that IPVanish has the means and the power to keep you safe and private on the Web.

Speed & Performance

Streaming Netflix via IPVanish

IPVanish has done plenty to improve its performance. Your speed might drop occasionally, but overall you can expect fluid, stable, and very fast speeds. Our Score: 9/10

Now, the time has come to test IPVanish's real-world performance. We are going to connect to several servers and check their speeds. So, let's continue with our hands-on IPVanish review.

IPVanish Speed Test

When testing VPN servers, we always check both local and long-distance connections. That's going to be the case with IPVanish as well. Our goal is to check download and upload speeds and then compare those numbers with our baseline data.

Our Baseline Speed Before We Tested IPVanish
Our baseline speed before testing IPVanish.

Speaking of our baseline data, we ran a speed test on our 'naked' Web connection - without having IPVanish enabled in the background. As you can see above, we managed to get 3.93 Mbps for downloads and 0.50 Mbps for uploads.

Local Speed Tests

When it comes to local (nearby) connections, we connect to servers in the UK and Italy. So, let's see how did those IPVanish servers perform.

Speed Test Result of IPVanish Server in Italy
Download and upload speeds of an IPVanish server in Italy.

First, we tested a server in Italy. Upon letting IPVanish find the best available server, we ran a speed test and got 3.51 Mbps for downloads and 0.50 Mbps for uploads. Overall, those are good enough results, on par with most other VPNs.

Speed Test Result of IPVanish Server in the UK
Download and upload speeds of an IPVanish server in the UK.

Then, we tested a range of servers found in the United Kingdom. The best result we got was 3.81 Mbps for downloads and 0.47 Mbps for uploads. Excellent results overall.

Long-Distance Speed Tests

We've tested IPVanish's long-distance servers found in the USA, Canada, Singapore, and Australia. So, let's see how IPVanish handles remote VPN connections.

Speed Test Result of IPVanish Server in the USA
Download and upload speeds of an IPVanish server in the US.

A server in the United States (located on the east coast) gave us 3.88 Mbps for downloads and 0.37 Mbps for uploads. Servers in the US are typically under a heavy load, so it's great to see that IPVanish can keep up with the demand.

Speed Test Result of IPVanish Server in Canada
Download and upload speeds of an IPVanish server in Canada.

Then, a Canada-based server managed to provide excellent results. During this round of testing, we got 3.91 Mbps for downloads and 0.34 Mbps for uploads.

Speed Test Result of IPVanish Server in Singapore
Download and upload speeds of an IPVanish server in Singapore.

We typically test Indian VPN servers, but IPVanish has removed those recently. That happened most probably as a result of that country's effort to force VPNs to collect sensitive data. So, we tested a server in Singapore instead, which managed to give us 1.78 Mbps for downloads and 0.28 Mbps for uploads.

Speed Test Result of IPVanish Server in Australia
Download and upload speeds of an IPVanish server in Australia.

Lastly, we also tested a server found in Australia. IPVanish gave us 2.48 Mbps for downloads and 0.37 Mbps for uploads.

So, How Well Does IPVanish Perform?

To make sense of all the numbers above, we've put them into a table, calculating by how much each of IPVanish's servers throttled the speed of our Internet connection. So, take a look.

Download Speed Upload Speed Speed Reduction
Baseline Data 3.93 Mbps 0.50 Mbps 0%
Italy 3.51 Mbps 0.50 Mbps 10.6%
UK 3.81 Mbps 0.47 Mbps 3.0%
USA 3.88 Mbps 0.37 Mbps 1.2%
Canada 3.91 Mbps 0.34 Mbps 0.5%
Singapore 1.78 Mbps 0.28 Mbps 54.7%
Australia 2.48 Mbps 0.37 Mbps 36.8%

We conclude that IPVanish made our Web connection slower by 17.8% on average. That's a great result overall. Since we test VPNs regularly, and we've done so with IPVanish many times in the past, we have to note that IPVanish has improved its performance lately.

Also, you can expect fast and fluid performance regardless of the protocol you decide to use. IPVanish brings equally fast speeds when using WireGuard, OpenVPN, or any other protocol.

What Kind of Performance Can You Expect? - It's impossible to precisely predict what kind of performance you can expect because there are many variables in that equation, such as the speed of your Web connection, your physical location, your chosen protocol, and more.

Keep in mind that there's plenty you can do to speed up any VPN service. The provided link will take you to our guide with more than a dozen tips on taking full advantage of your VPN.

When it comes to IPVanish itself, make sure to visit its settings and switch to a different protocol, which should speed up your Web connection. Even the newly introduced WireGuard protocol should provide noticeable results.

Customer Support

Various Customer Support Resources As Present on IPVanish Website

There are plenty of helpful resources on the official IPVanish website, offering a dedicated customer support center and 24/7 live chat. Our Score: 10/10

Now, we'll take a look at IPVanish's customer support resources. There are different ways to find help and have your questions answered. Here are some of them:

  • Live Chat Support: Older and outdated reviews will tell you that IPVanish doesn't have live chat support. However, this VPN has recently implemented that option, now available on any page of its official site. Furthermore, their live chat reps are available 24/7.
  • Email Support: You can also send an email, creating a new support ticket along the way. This could be a good way to get help if you're not in a rush.
  • Phone Support: Among the newly introduced types of customer support, IPVanish now has a dedicated phone number. This is perhaps the fastest way to have your questions answered, and we're happy to see IPVanish offering this option.
  • Frequently Asked Questions: IPVanish understands that a number of its customers might come up with common questions. For example - how to reset your password, how much the service costs, and so on. Their FAQ section answers most of those, though the number of FAQs is pretty limited for now.
  • Setup Guides: Finally, it's good to know that you can find many setup guides covering pretty much any compatible device.

Lastly, we'll note that contacting IPVanish has never been easier. That especially applies to its mobile apps, which now feature direct communication channels.

Pricing

IPVanish Pricing Plans July 2022

If you want to invest in a VPN in the long term, IPVanish is an affordable option. Still, make sure to read the fine print before you sign up (more on that below). Our Score: 7.5/10

How Much Does IPVanish Cost?

IPVanish currently offers three types of subscriptions. Even though this VPN often comes up with deals and special offers, here's how much you can expect to pay - at the moment.

IPVanish Pricing
Total Price Per Month Savings
Monthly Plan $10.99 $10.99 0%
Quarterly Plan $13.33 $4.44 59%
Yearly Plan $39.99 $3.33 69%

As you can see from the table above, IPVanish's monthly plan comes priced at $10.99. Still, you can lower that by choosing the yearly plan, which comes down to $3.33 per month. Keep in mind that you'll need to pay $39.99 for the first year of your subscription. After that, you will be charged $89.99 annually.

We also must add that your investment in IPVanish comes without risks. That's because the VPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee without any questions asked. You only need to keep in mind that your subscription must originate from IPVanish's website. If you subscribe via its iOS/Android app, you'll need to turn to Apple/Google if you want your money returned.

Regarding the available payment methods, you can use credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, and more) and PayPal. There's no anonymous way to pay.

Does IPVanish Offer a Free Trial?

Asking IPVanish About Free Trial

IPVanish used to offer a free trial, but that's no longer the case. Sadly, getting a subscription is the only way to try this VPN. With that said, it's good to know that you can count on IPVanish's money-back guarantee - but there's a catch even there as well.

IPVanish's 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee - Will You Get Your Money Back?

Asking IPVanish About Their Money Back Policy

IPVanish offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. So if you're not 100% satisfied with this VPN service, you have every right to ask for your money to be returned.

However, it's important to highlight that you must cancel your subscription before the end of your subscription's 30th day. If you fail to do this, IPVanish won't honor your request. And also, keep in mind that eligible refunds will be processed within three business days.

Everything said above applies to subscriptions purchased via IPVanish's site. iOS and Android subscribers who have used their mobile devices to subscribe to IPVanish are not eligible for a refund.

Can IPVanish Be Used Free-of-Charge?

No, there's no way to IPVanish free of charge. The VPN doesn't offer a free tier, and it also doesn't offer a free trial. The only to use it is by purchasing a subscription.

IPVanish Comparisons & Additional Research Findings

Before we conclude our review, we'd like to present additional information that you'll surely find to be helpful. So, here's how IPVanish ranks compared to top-rated VPN providers and more. Keep on reading our IPVanish review.

How IPVanish Compares to Other High-Rated VPNs (IPVanish vs. ExpressVPN vs. NordVPN)

IPVanish is often compared to ExpressVPN and NordVPN, the most reputable VPNs available on today's market. We're going to do the same, starting with a handy table comparing those three VPNs' specifications and performance.

IPVanish ExpressVPN NordVPN
Jurisdiction NOT SAFE SAFE SAFE
Data Logging NO NO NO
Encryption AES-256 AES-256 AES-256
Number of Servers 2,000+ 3,000+ 5,500+
Number of Countries 50+ 90+ 60
Number of Connections UNLIMITED 5 6
Speed/Performance FAST ULTRA-FAST FAST
Kill Switch YES YES YES
Split Tunneling YES YES YES
Netflix Support YES YES YES
Hulu Support NO YES YES
Prime Video Support NO YES YES
Disney+ Support YES YES YES
Live Chat YES YES YES
Free Trial NO YES YES
Price (Annual) $10.99/month $12.95/month $11.95/month

As you can see from the table above, IPVanish is a less powerful VPN overall when compared to ExpressVPN and NordVPN. Even though it's on par with its competitors when it comes to many features, it fails when it comes to the most important ones.

If we compare IPVanish with ExpressVPN, it's clear that ExpressVPN offers a larger network, comes from a "safer" jurisdiction, brings better speeds, and supports more streaming platforms. That isn't as surprising, considering that ExpressVPN is the best VPN available right now.

And once we compare IPVanish with NordVPN, we'll see a similar situation to the one described in the paragraph above. IPVanish doesn't have as many servers as NordVPN; it's slower overall and doesn't support as many streaming platforms.

The conclusion is that ExpressVPN and NordVPN are more expensive, but they're worth the price. So, if you can afford any of those, we highly recommend subscribing.

Does IPVanish Work in China?

No, IPVanish doesn't work in China. This VPN service (including its website) is blocked in China, and there's no way to overcome that limitation.

In all fairness, only a handful of VPNs still work in that country. More importantly, there's a very limited selection of VPNs capable of going over the Great Firewall of China. With that said, our recommendation would be to use ExpressVPN or NordVPN.

What's IPVanish Missing?

IPVanish comes with many strengths, and there are many reasons you might want to pick this VPN. However, it also comes with a set of problems and limitations, making it essential to think good and hard before reaching the final decision.

First, keep in mind that IPVanish comes from the USA, which isn't ideal. Then, previous events have proven that IPVanish wasn't honest about its no-logs policy. Of course, it's also true that this VPN is under all-new management now - but not much has been done for this VPN to earn the trust of its subscribers once again.

Then, we have fully-functional apps - but which are far from being polished. In fact, they can be pretty confusing in terms of their sets of features, as you don't know what to expect before you install those.

IPVanish Pros & Cons - Here's the Bottom Line!

Lastly, after spending quite some time testing IPVanish, we'd like to share this VPN's most prominent pros and cons. So, check out the following segments.

IPVanish Pros

  • Compatible with numerous platforms and devices.
  • A large selection of capable VPN protocols (including WireGuard).
  • Supports unlimited VPN connections.
  • Powered by AES-256 encryption.
  • Not the biggest network of servers, but big enough.
  • Works with Netflix, Disney Plus, and BBC iPlayer.
  • Allows P2P traffic.
  • Fast and stable performance.
  • Live chat, email, and telephone support available.

IPVanish Cons

  • Based in the United States (5-Eyes Alliance).
  • Previously exposed for sharing private data logs.
  • Changed several owners in the last couple of years.
  • Doesn't work in China.

So, Do We Recommend IPVanish?

Home Page of IPVanish Website

In case you want a VPN that protects you online and hides your actual location, IPVanish will meet your needs. It's quite easy to use and comes with plenty of servers. Therefore, the basics are covered adequately.

Also, there are many shortcomings that IPVanish has been busy dealing with. Since plenty is left to be ironed out, we believe those seeking the ultimate level of online anonymity should turn to this VPN's competitors.

With that said, we can recommend IPVanish - but only to average home users who simply want to make their Web connection safer. If that's what you're looking for, don't hesitate and subscribe to IPVanish right away.

FAQ

Can IPVanish Be Trusted?

Yes, you can trust IPVanish as its no-logs claims have been audited by reputable cyber-security auditors several times in the past.

That means IPVanish won't collect any usage or connection logs. More precisely, your personally identifiable information will never reach IPVanish's servers.

Is IPVanish Worth Getting?

In general, yes - IPVanish is worth getting. That especially goes for those who seek fully automated VPN protection, which is exactly what IPVanish offers.

Is IPVanish Good?

Yes, IPVanish seems to be good enough for privacy protection and unblocking streaming sites, as well as for online gaming. It even supports torrenting as well.

Does IPVanish Slow Down Your Internet?

Based on our tests, IPVanish will slow your down by around 17% on average. That means IPVanish is a speedy VPN service with fluid and stable performance.

Keep in mind that you can do a lot to improve IPVanish's performance. For example, you can stick to nearby servers or use faster VPN protocols such as L2TP and IKEv2.

Can You Be Tracked Using IPVanish?

Based on our tests, IPVanish won't leak your data in any way, which means that you can't be tracked while connected to an IPVanish server.

Of course, you need to ensure that your VPN is properly set up. We recommend using one of IPVanish's apps instead of configuring it manually. You can also use its kill switch, which you'll find in the VPN app's settings.

Review Summary

IPVanish has done plenty to improve its offer and is now a capable VPN service - especially when it comes to the average home user interested in a one-click VPN solution.

8.2
Overall Score
Background, Jurisdiction & Reputation
8
Supported Platforms & Devices
8
Installation & Initial Configuration
10
Prominent Features
6.5
Server Count & Infrastructure
6.5
UI/UX Design & Ease of Use
8
Media Streaming, Torrenting & Gaming
8
Security & Privacy
9
Speed & Performance
9
Customer Support
10
Pricing
7.5

Add a Comment

Latest
How to Watch Welcome to Flatch Season 2 Online From Anywhere
Welcome to Flatch is landing a new season soon, and we are happy to tell you it's super easy to stream online,...
How to Watch CSI: Vegas Season 2 Online From Anywhere
There is great excitement among CSI fans worldwide as CSI: Vegas Season 2 is finally set to premiere soon. After the success...
How to Watch Hell’s Kitchen Season 21 Online From Anywhere
Are you ready to get back into Hell's Kitchen? Gordon Ramsay is returning for the 21st season on Fox, and we're eager...
Table of Contents
For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]