Tokyo Ghoul Anime Watch Order & Filler List

By Evanshi Mavani / August 6, 2021

Tokyo Ghoul has been one of the more hyped-up anime in the community due to its very popular manga created by Sui Ishida. The premise itself is easy to follow. The world is inhabited by humans and ghouls who eat people as a source of food. The main character, Kaneki Ken, after being turned into a half ghoul-half human hybrid, tries to figure out his identity while desperately trying to survive the harsh world of humans and ghouls.

The anime has healthy doses of action and psychological drama, as it continues to explore and question the prejudice between the two groups. For those who enjoy a thrilling series with lots of gore, Tokyo Ghoul is the perfect choice.

However, with a number of prequels and live-action spin-offs, it can be tricky for a first-time viewer to navigate through Tokyo Ghoul in order. With detailed information on everything ranging from TV seasons, movies to OVA's, this watch order is all you need to begin your binging sessions. So with that said, let's get started!

Tokyo Ghoul: Release Order

This is the exact order in which Tokyo Ghoul’s seasons and OVAs were released.

TV Series


Tokyo Ghoul: Chronological Order

In order to watch Tokyo Ghoul in its proper chronological order, you need to watch the prequels (OVAs) first and then the TV series. However, this order is not recommended to first-time viewers, and only those who have already read the manga or are rewatching Tokyo Ghoul should refer to this list.

  1. Tokyo Ghoul: “Jack” (OVA)
  2. Tokyo Ghoul: “Pinto” (OVA)
  3. Tokyo Ghoul (TV)
  4. Tokyo Ghoul Root A (TV)
  5. Tokyo Ghoul: re (TV)
  6. Tokyo Ghoul: re 2nd Season (TV)
Tokyo Ghoul

Tokyo Ghoul is a dark fantasy anime by Studio Pierrot, which is adapted based on the Japanese manga series by Sui Ishida.

Tokyo has become a cruel and merciless city—a place where vicious creatures called "ghouls" exist alongside humans. The citizens live in constant fear of these “monsters” and their thirst for human flesh. However, the greatest threat these ghouls pose is their ability to masquerade as humans and blend in with society.

The story follows Ken Kaneki, a shy, bookish college student, who is instantly drawn to Rize Kamishiro, an avid reader like himself. However, Rize is not exactly who she seems. This unfortunate meeting introduces Kaneki to the dark depths of the ghouls' inhuman world. In a twist of fate, he is saved by the enigmatic waitress Touka Kirishima and thus begins his new life as a half-ghoul/half-human hybrid who must find a way to integrate into both societies.

Below you can find Tokyo Ghoul's recommended watch order for first-time viewers!

1. Tokyo Ghoul (Season 1)

2. Tokyo Ghoul: “Jack”

3. Tokyo Ghoul: Root A (Season 2)

4. Tokyo Ghoul: “Pinto”

5.  Tokyo Ghoul: re (Season 3)

6.  Tokyo Ghoul: re 2nd Season

Which Episodes Can You Skip in Tokyo Ghoul? – Filler List!

Tokyo Ghoul has no filler episodes, despite a lot of content being anime-original.

Filler episodes are usually added to a show due to a lack of content in the source material. However, given the limited number of episodes and short run time of Tokyo Ghoul, it is no surprise that it has a zero percent filler rate.

Every episode of the series is canon and crucial to the plot. However, while the first twelve episodes are completely canon, the remaining ones are a mix of canon and anime original content. This does not make Tokyo Ghoul Root A filler, as the episodes are essential to keep up with Kaneki's development and follow the story in Tokyo Ghoul: re.

Where Should You Start the Tokyo Ghoul Manga From?

Almost every single person who has read the Tokyo Ghoul manga denounces the anime series. In fact, the difference between the two mediums is so drastic that every anime-only viewer should read the source material after. So, which chapter should you start with once you’re done with the series?

As each season omits content from the manga, especially Tokyo Ghoul Root A, it is recommended you start from chapter 1. However, if you do not wish to read from the beginning but want to catch up with the content skipped in season 1, chapters 19 to 21, 34 to 39, and then from 46.5 onward should be read. These chapters cover the majority of what was cut or altered in the first season.

For Tokyo Ghoul Root A (season 2), there are too many original episodes, significant omits, and changes to recommend specific chapters. However, chapters 90 to 100 and chapters 133 to 143, in particular, should contain significant events that were skipped by the anime adaptation.

Coming to the third season, Tokyo Ghoul: re, there are significant changes compared to the manga once again. After finishing this season, you should begin with chapter 58 of the Tokyo Ghoul: re manga. However, the manga references events not adapted by the anime, which might confuse you. In this case, reading the original manga, volumes 10 and 14, is highly recommended.

For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari