Which Magi Anime Should You Watch First? – Watch Order & Filler List

Written by Evanshi Mavani
Published on August 28, 2021

Like the title suggests, Magi is a magical and fantasy anime that has risen to popularity throughout the years. However, it is more than just magic. Magi is different from other anime of the same genre because of its superior world-building, likable characters, and unconventional way of narrating.

Following the protagonists Alibaba, Aladdin, Morgiana, and Hakuryuu Ren, Magi takes an adventurous tone. One of the reasons why people love Magi is due to the realistic nature of its characters. Almost all of them face challenges and hardships to reach where they are today. The series not only explores the identities of these characters but also maps their journey in an unknown land.

Magi: Kingdom of Magic is the sequel of its forerunner Magi: Labyrinth of Magic. This series is a direct sequel, hence it cannot be viewed as a stand-alone. If the first season focuses on adventure, politics, and personal intuitions, the second season is more about the main characters discovering themselves as they go on separate journeys. 

This anime is not just about witchcraft or wizardry, but the chronicles of our characters and their development as individuals. Magi does not just focus on "saving the world with the power of friendship," but also on the routes one has to take to reach that stage.

With a good number of seasons released, this is the perfect time to watch Magi. Containing watch links, filler lists, and even a watch order, this article has everything you need to get started! 

Magi Series: Release Order

TV Series


With the setting of the anime based on Arabian Nights, the anime follows the journey of two main protagonists, Alibaba and Aladdin. The story takes place in a time of chaos and war when the spirit of revolution is in the air and magic has appeared in the world. This phenomenon of magic has created dungeons all around the world, which on conquering provides the conqueror with immense power.

In a world where new kings are getting crowned, and new adventures are being experienced, our main protagonists, Aladdin, Alibaba, and Morgiana, look for their own paths as they go on a journey that might impact more than they initially thought.

You can find the Magi watch order and links below.

1. Magi: Sinbad no Bouken 

Magi Sindbad no Bokuen

Though Sinbad no Bouken has been released after Magi, it is a prequel to the anime. To understand the series better, it's recommended to watch this before watching the other two.

2. Magi: Adventure of Sinbad (All Parts)

Magi Sindbad no Bokuen OVA

3. Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic 


4. Magi: The Kingdom of Magic 

Magi Kingdom of Magic

Which Episodes Can You Skip in Magi? – Filler List

Magi has three TV seasons and five OVAs in its franchise. The two seasons of Magi have a total of 50 episodes, with 5 mixed canon and filler episodes. Furthermore, even the prequel of the show does not have any filler episodes. Due to this, the actual filler percentage of Magi is 0%.

For your reference, along with the Magi watch order, here’s a list of episodes you can skip (fillers) in the series!

Overall, Magi starts off as a light-hearted anime - however, its darker themes and serious plotlines start making their appearance within a few episodes. With great pacing, this anime is an enjoyable watch, especially for those who like shows with magic, friendship, and adventure.

For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: