How To Watch the Steins Gate Series in Order

By Samona Punjabi / April 12, 2022

One of the best series involving time travel, "Steins;Gate," takes a unique swing at the often overused concept. The series takes us on a journey of bizarre events, showing us fairly uncommon time travel tropes. It is everything: drama, comedy, a little bit of crime, and the true embodiment of the Sci-Fi genre.

The story of "Steins;Gate" follows the unorthodox, theatrical, and self-proclaimed mad scientist Okabe Rintaro, who often refers to himself as "Hououin Kyouma." Okabe is a passionate scientist who runs the Future Gadget Laboratory with his childhood friend Mayuri and his hacker friend Daru.

"Steins;Gate" sees Okabe's story intertwine with a genius scientist Makise Kurisu after he accidentally invents the time-leap machine. Combine this with a top-secret evil organization called SERN, and you've got what they call a flawless Sci-Fi series!

The concept of time travel has been used in several Sci-Fi stories through the years, often making fans of the genre apprehensive when watching a new show with the same theme. However, the story of "Steins;Gate" is well thought out and perfectly executed. The anime does the job right when it comes to exploring and developing side characters and explaining its time travel concept, so even the simple-minded won't be left behind.

There are two seasons of "Steins;Gate," with the second season being called "Steins;Gate 0." The OVAs and the movie also play important roles in describing the plot. We recommend that fans watching the series for the first time watch it in the release order. However, depending on preference, the chronological order is just as enjoyable.

Fans looking to watch the series can check it out on Funimation, Crunchyroll, and Hulu. Funimation also streams the anime in the English dubbed version. Fans in India can watch the series on Netflix.

Mayuri, Okabe, and Kurisu
Mayuri, Okabe, and Kurisu

Check out the full list of "Steins;Gate" episodes, OVAs, movies, and the chronological and release order to watch below:

Release Order for the Steins Gate Series

Other Media

A Detailed Chronological Order for Steins Gate

Steins;Gate (Episode 1-22)

Steins;Gate: Kyoukaimenjou no Missing Link – Divide By Zero (2015) (Episode 23β)

Steins;Gate 0 (Season 2)

Steins;Gate (Episode 23-24)

OVA - Steins;Gate: Egoistic Poriomania

Steins;Gate Movie: Load Region of Déjà vu

OVA - Steins; Gate 0 - Valentine's of Crystal Polymorphism: Bittersweet Intermedio

Read Next: How to Watch Fairy Tail in Order (With Movies)

For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari