How to Watch Fairy Tail in Order (With Movies)

Written by Samona Punjabi
Published on April 10, 2022

One of the most popular series about bonds and the power of friendship, Fairy Tail, is a shonen anime. The series follows the character of Lucy Heartfilia, who wants to join the Fairy Tail guild in the Kingdom of Fiore. As she makes her way to the guild, she runs into Natsu Dragneel and his cat Happy, and the three immediately become a team!

Fairy Tail is a fairly emotional series, often showcasing the friendship and love between the guild members, most of whom have grown up together. The series sticks to fast-paced action sequences and passionate storytelling in true shonen fashion. It is the perfect fit if you're a shonen fan or a magic adventure fan.

The series eventually follows the adventures of Team Natsu of Fairy Tail, consisting of Natsu Dragneel, Lucy Heartfilia, Happy, Gray Fullbuster, Erza Scarlet, and Wendy Marvel. Over ten years, Fairy Tail has aired nine seasons and 328 episodes. The series has also released two movies and nine OVAs!

With 61 reported filler episodes, Fairy Tail sees two filler anime-only arcs that are not relevant to the main plotline. However, apart from the two filler arcs, most of the fillers are one-shot episodes and won't affect the flow of the series.

Fans looking to watch the series can check it out on Crunchyroll, Funimation, and Hulu. Fans in India can watch the series on Netflix, which has around 150 episodes.

We recommend watching the Fairy Tail series in the order of release, followed by the movies and OVAs. While the movies and OVAs are well-made and fun to watch, they are not relevant to the main story. However, depending on your choice, you can also watch it in chronological order with OVAs and Movies, especially if you've seen the series before.

Team Natsu of Fairy Tail.
Team Natsu of Fairy Tail.

Check out the full list of Fairy Tail episodes, OVAs, movies, fillers, and the chronological and release order to watch below:

Release Order For Fairy Tail

Season 1 (2009-10)

Season 2 (2010-11)

Season 3 (2011)

Season 4 (2011-12)

Season 5 (2012)

Season 6 (2012-13)

Season 7 (2014-15)

Season 8 (2016)

Season 9 (2018-19)

Lucy and Natsu
Lucy and Natsu



Chronological Order For Fairy Tail

Read Next: How to Watch the Black Clover series in order

For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: