How to Watch the ReZero Series in Order

By Samona Punjabi / April 14, 2022

If you're a gamer, you've probably thought about how great it could be if we were reborn whenever we died. "Re:Zero − Starting Life in Another World" is a Japanese light novel series written by Tappei Nagatsuki and illustrated by Shinichirou Otsuka. The series is an isekai anime with a dark fantasy theme and follows protagonist Subaru Natsuki's journey into another world.

However, "Re:Zero" will change your mind about reincarnation in another world. The series sees Subaru exploring a new world with no money and no friends. Nevertheless, he begins to understand things about the new world eventually, only to realize that all of his progress is lost every time he dies.

Every time Subaru dies in "Re:Zero," every little trinket he collected is gone, and every person he meets forgets about him, and he starts from zero. It might not sound like much, but the series will undoubtedly show you why it's a dark fantasy. Fans looking to watch the series can check it out on Crunchyroll and Netflix.

ReZero - Director's Cut vs. Original Series

"Re:Zero" has two seasons, consisting of 25 episodes each. Besides the two seasons, a director's cut was also released in April 2020. While the first season of the anime has 25 episodes, each is 25 minutes long. On the other hand, the Director's cut has 13 episodes, each an hour long. However, the overall plot is the same, except for some extra scenes and tiny changes in the Director's cut.

The Director's cut features better animation than the original first season. Fans who haven't yet watched the series should watch the Director's cut since it has a few extra scenes and a better retelling of the story. Fans who have already watched the first season need not watch the Director's cut.

The release order is the recommended order for Re: Zero because it makes more sense. However, the second season of "Re:Zero" was released after a four-year delay, leading several fans to rewatch season 1 before its release. In this case, returning fans should also rewatch the first season's Director's cut instead of the original series.

Check out the full list of "Re:Zero" episodes, OVAs, spin-offs, specials, and the chronological and release order to watch below:

Release Order




5. Chronological Order 

The OVA Memory Snow must be watched between episodes 11 and 12 of Season 1. If you're watching the Director's cut, check out the OVA between episodes 5 and 6. The Spin-Off and Special are not relevant to the main plotline and can be skipped. However, we recommend finishing the main story if you want to watch these.

Read Next: How To Watch the Steins Gate Series in Order

For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari