How to Watch the Fate Series in Order (With Movies)

By Samona Punjabi / April 9, 2022

The Fate series is one of the most complex and beautiful franchises, centering around the Holy Grail Wars between mages. The mages are often masters who call upon servants, the spirits of historical figures, mainly heroes like Hercules, King Arthur, and more. Several of the series within the franchise feature noble families choosing their most noteworthy member (and mage) to represent them in the war for the Holy Grail. The war involves seven Masters and seven Servants under seven classes: Saber, Lancer, Archer, Rider, Caster, Assassin, and Berserker.

The franchise consists of several series happening at different times throughout history, featuring different characters. However, even though the mages are often different, they can call upon a servant (historical figure) we have already seen before since they're spirits. For example, King Arthur's character appears in Fate/ Zero and Fate/ Stay Night.

Fans looking to watch the series can check it out on Crunchyroll, Funimation, Netflix, and Hulu. While the chronological order of the series is more tempting, we advise fans to watch the series in the release order, especially if you haven't watched the series before.

Masters and servants
Masters and servants

Check out the full list of Fate series episodes, movies, OVAs, and the chronological + release order to watch them below:

Release Order For The Fate Series

TV series




Spin-off Series

Rin Tohsaka x Archer - Fate/ Stay Night

A Detailed Chronological Order For the Fate Series

1. Fate/Apocrypha 

(The events of this series occur during the 3rd Holy Grail War but in an alternate timeline, separated from the original plot.)

2. Fate/Zero (2 Seasons)

(The events of this anime take place during the 4th Holy Grail War)

3. Fate/Stay Night

3.5 Lord El-Melloi II Case Files (Short anime series)

(The events of this anime special take place after Fate/Zero (4th Holy Grail War) and before Fate/Stay Night (5th Holy Grail War).)

3.6 Today's Menu for Emiya Family (ONA)

(This is an alternate ending to the 5th Holy Grail War where nobody dies and everybody is happy.)

4. Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works (2 Seasons)

(The events of this anime take place during the 5th Holy Grail War)

5. Fate/Stay Night: Heaven's Feel (movie trilogy)

6. Fate/Grand Order (2 movies)

(The events of this series occur in an alternate timeline, once again separated from the original plot. In this timeline, the 1st Holy Grail War does not happen.)

7. Fate/Extra Last Encore

(The Fate/Extra Universe also takes place in an alternate timeline. Fate/Extra Universe splits off from the 3rd Holy Grail War of the original plot.)

8. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma Illya (Spin-off Series - 4 Seasons)

(This spin-off series' events occur in an alternate universe, separating from the core plot before starting the 1st Holy Grail War.)

9. Fate/Prototype (OVA)

(This is also an installment in this franchise, and similarly, its events take place solely in an alternate universe.)

Read Next: How to Watch the Dragon Ball Z Series in Order (With Movies)

For a better user experience we recommend using a more modern browser. We support the latest version of the following browsers: For a better user experience we recommend using the latest version of the following browsers: