- YouTube’s Incognito Mode is a tool used to prevent online activity tracking.
- To take advantage of the new feature, you need to update the YouTube app on your Android smartphone.
- Once the feature is enabled, it limits what you can do on the platform.
Other applications such as Chrome and Gboard apps were first to provide this service to Android consumers. The mode allows a user to browse the site while no records of the activities get logged. These settings make it easier to browse without a search engine tracking your activity. This is a beneficial privacy feature but why is this such exciting news for consumers? Currently, if you don’t have this update, you need to log out of your Google account to prevent tracking. This is a tedious process. Thanks to the new changes, you can stay on the platform, activate the mode and carry on browsing.
Activating it is easy. A user simply taps on his or her avatar to access these settings. It’s quickly turned off as well so you can continue normal browsing. Why can’t you stay in this mode? Because there is a limit to how much you can do while it’s active. When turned on, you won’t be able to access your Library or Inbox. Your subscriptions won’t work either.
It’s important that users realize that this feature doesn’t make all the data about your browsing disappear. Depending on the network setup, an ISP or an employer may still view what you do while on Incognito mode. While this upgrade is welcomed, users hope to manage this even easier one day. A future update will hopefully place the Incognito button on the app’s home screen.